long time….no post!

June 22, 2011 at 11:47 pm 2 comments

First of all, let me greatly apologize for the very long blog abscence. There has been a lot of things happening around our neck of the woods that either, good or bad, have kept me away from photographing, blogging, or sharing words.

Secondly, I know that there has been a slight demand for a hat pattern and, sadly to say, my computer sucks and ate the majority of my documents/notes through a major upgrade! (Currently looking into a MAC……actually really looking into a MAC!!!!)

To start off, the Chunky Brimster (going on my very vague rememberance of what I did exactly) can work with any gauge yarn as it is really just a basic hat/beanie pattern. The brim part of the hat was (to accomplish the result that I was looking for) worked with short rows as a separate piece. I simply casted on the number of stitches I thought would make for a nice size brim (going on 100% complete personal taste) on the hat and work short rows until I was happy with it. Picture the beginning of a toe-up sock but instead smooshed and stitched to the front of a basic beanie/hat pattern. It really is easy and, for those that know how to do short rows, should be fairly simple (I believe for a chunky weight yarn I casted on 28-30 sts and worked short rows until I had 8-9 live stitches then worked back picking up my wrapped stitches. If you do not know how to work short rows, I highly recommend you learn because it is a skill that comes in handy rather working socks or adding a few extra rows to the collar of a sweater, the body of a hat…as seen on Melissa’s hat, or to the bust section of a sweater. Please believe me that when I say a self-taught knitter such as myself can learn short rows….anybody can learn short rows…YouTube it and you’ll find lots of helpful resources!)

Other than a crashed computer, I have been knitting lots and lots to try and keep on top of my “self promoting” hat sales as well as try and get into some craft shows. Luckily since it is Spring and Summer here in Ohio, I can play a little catch up and slowly add to my “knitting 4 sale” collection…though the girls have not been very happy with this as this is usually when I begin working on their stuff for the upcoming Autumn/Winter. Yes, Ohio sees at least 5-6 months of cold weather/snowy season when you really begin to think about it.

On the upside though, I have been trying to do a little “personal” knitting and found a beautiful hat pattern that I couldn’t help but cast on for once I realized I had the right weight of yarn.


(proudly modeled by Thing 2 who thought it was so cool the pattern actually said to block over a soccer ball. Seriously! To be a kid again and find the smallest things amusing!)

Pattern: Scallop Lace Hat by Leah Coccari-Swift (free pattern on Ravelry!!)
Yarn: Patons Classic Wool Merino in Peacock (beautiful blue-ish teal color as seen in photo of Thing 2 holding the hat blockin soccer ball)
Mods: None! Worked pattern as written!
And yes, I did hack off all my hair…..part of living with the Ohio Summer humidity/wavy thick mess I have.

On the upside of everything, the girlies and I have been enjoying our Summer with graduation parties, swimming, visiting friends, and relaxing with our days. Due to the fact that my girlies go to public school and work around a “schedule”, when Summer comes, I let them be free  to do what they want (though bedtime is still re-inforced just a little bit later for Summer hours and our Library card never tires).

Entry filed under: knitting. Tags: .

coming soon to knitting needles near you gardening

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary  |  June 26, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    If you are serious about craft shows, you should check into Crafty Mart. One of my friends (she is also the leader of the Akron Stitch n Bitch- Junisage on Ravelry) is the organizer. It’s fantastic! There’s a Facebook group for Crafty Mart too. The next one is in November. There is also Oddmall (did that show once) and Bizarre Bazaar (run by Shannon Okey/KnitGrrl). Those are the cool local shows I’ve been involved in!

    Reply
    • 2. multicrafty  |  June 26, 2011 at 9:25 pm

      Hi Mary! Thank you so much for all the info! Crafty Mart is the one that I am going to try and get into. I found them on Facebook and have been following them to try and get a heads on up things. I live in East Sparta which is about 40 minutes south of Akron.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2011
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

