new toy and lots of food!

July 10, 2011 at 10:33 pm 4 comments

There is a toy that I have been wanting for….oh….probably 8 or so years now. Yes, as a grown woman I still want toys. But compared to when I was a child with a shovel, a bucket, my big wheel, and a creek…..my taste in toys have changed (though I still get excited when the girls ask if we can go find tadpoles, worms, or toads).

Above is my new toy! In red!! A sexy color for a sexy piece of machine!! Every time I would want this, car repairs were needed, or doctor bills had to be paid, or the girls need new clothes, or they needed new books (which is why we got a library card because I cannot afford to buy new books constantly with the way Thing 1 reads), or dinners on the town, or yarn, or new washer, or a new vacuum because the other one smoked every time I ran it, or a million other reasons that I could not justify spending the money on this baby.

And I would browse thrift stores, garages sales, people basements (joking….only my Mom’s) looking for a KitchenAid stand-up mixer. Turning up with no luck!

Until recently when we were at a kitchen store in New Philly and I was playing around with one (like how men go to the Harley shop and just sit on a motorcycle) and “good-eye-James”, as he will be called, spotted one hiding underneath the clearance table! THE CLEARANCE TABLE!! (wtf!)

The deal was buy 1 clearance item get X% off, buy 2 clearance items get XX% off, and if you bought 3 clearance items you get even more percentage off.

So basically, with my 3 clearance items I came out even cheaper than paying the orignal price for just the KitchenAid (I’m talking $80 cheaper!)

And I have been in non-stop “martha stewart” mode!

Made butter using a video tutorial/recipe that I cannot seem to find right now. Sorry! I forgot to bookmark it. But it is really easy, especially the “washing” part. The video I watched was a gentleman who recommended switching to the paddle attachment when you go to wash the butter and I would have to agree. In the video he stated that the butter gets stuck in the whisk attachment and its difficult to get out. Not sure if this is true or not but I did what the man said to do and it worked out great! Also, the “buttermilk” I saved which I used the next day in my banana bread recipe.

Made bread to go with the butter of course. When I first made homemade bread I used this recipe here. Over the years I have tweaked it and combined it with a few other bread recipes and it works for us. For me, the key to making great bread is a thermometer….learned the hard way what happens when you kill your yeast…..uck!

Made noodles using a recipe that a friend gave to me which he has tweaked and modified from an original recipe. The girls looove these noodles!

Also made cilantro pesto which is unrelated to the KitchenAid mixer but taste so yummy on homemade noodles. I used a regular pesto recipe but substituting 1.5C of cilantro and 1/2 cup of parsley instead of 2 cups of basil. I have the recipe buried in one of my cookbooks and that is what it said you can do. Very yummy!!!

Other things that I managed to make but did not photograph are:

-brownies
-banana bread
-peanut butter cookies

All made from scratch using each of the attachments that came with my mixer!

So now I am on the look out for any type of recipes where I can use my KitchenAid mixer.

On another note, the girls and I have been obsessed with Iron Chef America! Perhaps it is the feminist side of them but they love when Cat Cora gets picked as well as wins. And I have re-instated my longtime love with Two Fat Ladies.

Entry filed under: in the kitchen!. Tags: .

knitting and knitting related goods the days of summer

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rebecca  |  July 12, 2011 at 5:05 am

    I have wanted one of these for so long… I hope I’m so lucky as to stumble upon a clearance sale!

    Reply
    • 2. multicrafty  |  July 23, 2011 at 12:38 pm

      Rebecca, I hope you can stumble across one on clearance as well. It makes baking and cooking so much easier! Especially baking bread.

      Reply
  • 3. Amber  |  July 23, 2011 at 11:12 am

    We’re mixer twins! I was lucky enough to get one last year when it was not only on sale, but I also had a rebate coupon for it. Finally! I use mine all the time and bake a lot more because of it. Things like pie crust were always such a strain on my wrists that I avoided making it, but not anymore!

    Reply
    • 4. multicrafty  |  July 23, 2011 at 12:41 pm

      Amber! I’ll have to try pie crust sometime. I usually bought already made pie crust because I hated the pain of making pie crust by hand.

      I love my Kitchen Aid!! And there are so many attachments I want for it. A lot of the food items I posted I make on a regular to semi-regular basis and could not believe how much easier it was using my Kitchen Aid. Best investment I could ever purchase for my kitchen!!

      Also, I told my girlies that when they move out of the house I would buy them each a Kitchen Aid mixer as a house warming gift.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

