gardening and music

July 25, 2011 at 1:07 pm 1 comment

Or in other words, the ramblings of a heat exhausted mad women.

Oh my! This heat wave as really taken a toll on us. See, us Buckeyes complain about the cold and the heat……all year long. We stock up on sidewalk salt in August and sunscreen in February. Which is why my favorite season is Fall, but more on that later.

The girlies and I have resorted to staying inside, per my request, with an endless supply of Mama-Made-Southern Ice Tea, ice cream, books, games, popscicles and silly story writing.

::gardening::

I thought all was loss when the tomato leaves were shriveling up and the okra was looking a little droopy. But thanks to a thunderstorm rolling in, my garden is growing beautifully (even though some things are taking their time arriving) and I enjoy grabbing my morning cup of coffee and heading out to check on things.

My sunflowers are almost in bloom, I have 11 tomatoes on one plant, experimenting with carrots that were planted a week ago, and chamomile tea will (hopefully) be had this coming Fall/Winter (next to my friend’s fireplace with knitting in my hands…..oh the good life!)

My very first tomato from my very first garden was ready for picking earlier this week!!! I was both excited and apprehensive when I plucked it from its main source.

What if it isn’t “actually” ready?

What if it don’t taste as good as I remember garden fresh tomatoes tasting?

What if a bug managed to sneak her way in and camp out inside the tomato?

But OH MY!!!!! It was all I hoped it would be and more. So sweet and oh so delicious!! My Grandma’s favorite way of eating tomatoes was a tomato sandwich with whole wheat bread, mayonaise, and cheese and that is just what I did with my first tomato.

And speaking of gardening, a few weeks ago I stumbled my way to Amber’s blog. She had made an amazing shawl that I had seen on Ravelry and I was immediately sucked into her beautiful garden and doing it all for little to no cost. (my most favorite upcycled project of hers is the arbor she built out of trashed ladders…..seriously freaking awesome! Now I need to find old ladders somewhere)

After I bit I had seen that she was having a giveaway and of course I entered…..and WON!

The book is Heirloom: Notes from an Accidental Tomato Farmer by Tim Stark, a gift certificate to  Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds (which I’ve already spent and received), and a beautiful handmade by Amber herself apron. I cannot wait to read the book this evening after the girlies go to bed.

::music::

This Thursday James and I are going to a Flogging Molly/Clutch concert up in Cleveland!! I am so excited!

So I will leave you with a few of my favorites from Flogging Molly and from Clutch.

Flogging Molly Seven Deadly Sins

Clutch Cypress Grove 

Clutch Electric Worry

Now if I can just get The Black Keys to open up for Mazzy Star I will be in heaven…..though that combo I don’t think will happen.

Entry filed under: books, in the garden, music. Tags: .

the days of summer finally!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Amber  |  August 6, 2011 at 12:03 am

    The heat!!! Don’t even get me started. Really. But look at your tomatoes! Only a few of mine are starting to ripen so far.

    I’m so glad you liked everything, and it looks like you picked out some wonderful stuff from Baker Creek. I hope you’re enjoying Heirloom if you got a chance to start it, and I hope you had fun at your concert!

    Hang in there — the heat won’t last forever and we’ll be hating on some ice soon. ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

