Early Mother’s Day

May 7, 2007 at 9:41 pm Leave a comment

came to me this year. This past weekend was a local artist/friend of mine’s Glassblowing show.
KC is a very talented artist with breath taking vases, bowls, glasses, and glass sculptures. Even though we’ve been going to his shows (held twice a year May and November) and hang out quite often, I am still in awe every time I see him work. To me it is like an artform in itself from gathering the glass on the end of the rod, to shaping and tweakin’ every last detail. OK, so onto my point. Well, James is a friend/apprentice in the glass shop and being that he loves me so much, I always get great stuff. Such as:

My new drinking glasses:

Another shot/view of my new drinking glasses:

I have been wanting new drinking glasses for quite sometime now because the ones that we have/had are all etched from our dishwasher and plus we’ve had them for sometime. I am in absolute love with them and so far I haven’t really let anyone drink out of them because I am still in love looking at them. Plus when you add something as simple as ice water, it makes your drink look so pretty.

Which now brings me to my next point. I got to try my hand at glassblowing. WHICH IS UNBELIEVABLY HOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I gathered the glass on the end of the rod and that was the hot part. Then I rolled it on the marver (I think that’s what it is called) and got to shape it. Trust me, I messed up BIG TIME because I got the glass to far up on the rod somehow. It was really hard to see inside the furnace where the melted glass level was. But, I am going to take a paperweight class on May 26th, so I am SUPER excited for that to happen. I’ll have to post pics of my end result. Which reminds me that I should take/post pics of the few things we have that James has made for us. One of which was help from KC but I am still in absolute love with my vase. Let me put it to ya this way so you get a better understanding of how much I love my vase. If our house was to ever catch fire, I would grab the girls first and set them outside then I would go back into the house and grab my vase. Yes, it sounds silly to run back into a burning house for a vase but this vase is my FAVE piece I own. Plus it took him a really hard time to make and they almost lost it a few times in the process. Also, they were shocked when it came out of the kiln that it was still all in tack because of the problems they had making it.

Entry filed under: family life, rambling on.

O yes O yes It’s Springtime! My Fave Vase

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2007
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives