A new project for the New Year

January 2, 2008 at 4:33 pm 2 comments

(I missed by own blog-aversary. On January 1, 2007 I started my blog and posted my very first project. It’s hard to believe that in just one year, I taught myself how to knit and how to sew. Wonder what 2008 has in store for me?)

One thing that I’ve always wanted to do was make an afghan. My Mom has made baby afghans for her friends grandchildren, baby size afghans for both my girls, and when her and my Dad were first married (and had no $$$) she made afghans to give to both of her sisters for Christmas one year. I’ve had this book Afghans by the Pound for quite sometime now with (very) good intentions of making an afghan from it. I kept putting it off for one reason or another thinking that it was to big of a project for me. My Mom and I went shopping at JoAnn’s last Friday and she purchased yarn to make the (very beautiful) Ocean Waves Throw and I guess that’s what kicked this project in gear.

New project for the New Year

I’m making both of my girls an afghan and if it takes me all year or a month, I will be very happy that I decided to tackle this project. K.’s afghan is the Striped Shells pattern from Afghans by the Pound and being that I’ve always wanted to make an afghan of granny squares I figured I would make L.’s afghan using the basic granny square pattern from Crochet Today!. Also, I’m working (or trying to) on both afghans at the same time so hopefully I will get them done around the same time. That way it doesn’t end up that one girl gets hers and the other has to wait for months or a year to get hers.

Entry filed under: crochet.

A very Merry Christmas indeed I think I can! I think I can!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tina  |  January 16, 2009 at 10:37 am

    Hi, I noticed you are going to work on the Ocean Waves throw. Have you started? I’m just trying to and I’m not sure the pattern is correct that I have from the Crochet Today magazine. There is not correction posted for it. Would love to hear from you.
    Thank you!

    Reply
  • 2. multicrafty  |  January 16, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    No, it’s not that pattern. It’s actually a Striped Shells pattern from the Afghans by the Pound book. I do have that Crochet Today magazine and I could try to help you if you need. Just email me multicrafty (@) gmail (dot) com.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


