I DID IT!

January 6, 2008 at 8:54 pm 2 comments

*insert little happy dance here*

First sock completed
First sock completed ~ heel shaping
I completed my first ever sock last night! I’m so d*** proud of it. The color is absolutely beautiful and, even though it’s a little bit too big on L. (she is 3 and I knew size 2 would either be a little to small or she’d only get to wear it for about a week and then get some foot growth so I made it for a size 4), she absolutely loves it. And to get this little sock project more on a roll, I’m not getting “second sock syndrome”. After completing the first sock (and showing James the shaping, where I picked up stitches, and all the other things that he has absolutely no interest in whatso ever) I got to work on the second one.
Ribbing completed on second sock
Second sock same as the first
The only problem I had with sock #1 (besides my complete dumbness) was grafting the toes. I don’t like the way the stitches loop up like that. Hopefully sock #2 will be a little better. Although, sock #2 has a hole in it where the instep meets where I picked up my stitches. Anyone know how to fix that part?
After little sock project is over I’m going to get back to work on the afghans.
Entry filed under: knitting.

I think I can! I think I can! All done! No second sock syndrome for me!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  January 6, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    Lovely, lovely! So, so cute! Here is how I learned grafting:

    http://tinyurl.com/3dzesn

    Little gaps are annoying and they say, pick up extra stitches so you won’t have gaps, and then knit them together on the next round. But I always forget and I try to fix it with yarn and yarn needle, at the end. Anyway – great work!!

    -Carolyn

    Reply
  • 2. Angie  |  January 8, 2008 at 12:18 am

    Thank you Carolyn! I’ll have to try that next time. And yes, there will be a next time because I love knitting socks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


