All done! No second sock syndrome for me!

January 8, 2008 at 12:19 am 2 comments

My first pair of knitted socks

This morning I got L.’s second sock completed. It would’ve been done last night but I was tired and just wanted to relax with nothing in my hands. L. absolutely loves them and she has had them on all day.

L. wearing her new socks
And my grafting of the toes was much better for the second sock!
My first pair of knitted socks
(The second sock is the one with the blue toes)
While the stripes don’t match up, they remind me of L. because when she dresses her self nothing ever matches.
My first pair of knitted socks
My only problem with sock #2 is that I somehow managed to get a hole where my instep meets the gusset. Anyone know how to fix/avoid this?
Somehow I managed to get a hole
Now next onto my to-do list is to make K. a pair of socks and I do believe that I have just enough yarn left over. Then I’ll do the afghans. Just not in the mood to crochet right now for some reason.

Entry filed under: knitting.

I DID IT! Another sock in progress

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ...dotty...  |  January 10, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Hooray ! Beautiful job ! ! !
    If you got a hole there, you’re officially a new sock knitter………do a little research and you’ll find that it’s sort of an initiation essential ! My tip would be that you need to pick up an extra stitch or two there to make sure that gap is closed. Patterns don’t tell you this…….they say pick up ‘X’ number of stitches, but usually you’ll need another one or two on each side to keep there from being a hole. Look back at that section when you’ve gotten maybe 2 stitches knitted past it, pull on it, and see if there’s a hole. If there’s one now, it ain’t gonna go away ! Tink back to where the gap is, and pick up what you need to; all it means to the pattern is that you will have to knit a few more decrease rounds on the gusset…….no big deal, and no way to tell !

    Feel free to join our little knitalong.. http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=62407 ..expect to read alot of stuff that’s unsockrelated..(I wouldn’t expect you to read back over the WHOLE thread…..but you can ask all of your questions, there, and usually get pretty quick informed answers…….or atleast commiseration !

    Hope to see you there !
    Way to go !

    Reply
  • 2. Angie  |  January 10, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    Thank you so much dotty for your help. And I have to say that I’m glad I’m not the only one that it happens too. I started a pair of socks for my oldest daughter and did exactly what you had just said to do when I got to picking up stitches. And guess what! NO HOLE! YAY! I tell ya, you have been such of an inspiration to me to become a sock knitter. Thank you for that!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives