You’ve never been this close

June 12, 2008 at 12:19 am 11 comments

The girls and I, along with my brother and his wife, made our way up to the Akron Zoo today.  Originally we were suppose to go last Wednesday but with the rainy weather and the Jellyfish exhibit not opening until June 7th, we decided that today would be the perfect day to go.  (Yes, the jellyfish exhibit was all the talk around our house for weeks now, thanks to a little thing called commercials on TV.)

L.’s favorite part of the zoo are the Komodo Dragons, and K.’s favorite part of the zoo are the Greater African Flamingos (because they are her favorite color).

The best part of the day though, was that we all got to just relax and hang out.  My brother and I aren’t as close now as what we were growing up.  Which is completely understandable considering that he is married, lives an hour away and is always busy with work and his own life. Plus I’m constantly busy with my girls and James.  I guess that’s why when we do get together, it’s always nothing but good laughs and good times.

For more pictures of our little adventure to the Akron Zoo, I made them into a set on my Flickr account that can be viewed here.

Entry filed under: family life.

A little fun WIP

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Renna  |  June 12, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    It is hard to maintain the relationship we had with siblings as youngsters, when we become grownups with our own families and responsibilities. Making a point of getting together for fun times when possible helps.

    It sounds like you guys did indeed have a fun time. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. lisaannette  |  June 12, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    Looks like a lot of fun! I love going to the Zoo and just recently took a nephew and niece to the Indianapolis Zoo. It is so fun to see their expressions and wonderment at all the different animals.

    Reply
  • 3. multicrafty  |  June 12, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    ~Renna~ I know exactly what your saying. It saddens me somewhat that we aren’t as close as before our lives got hectic, but at least we do still get together. I feel as if though that when we do get together, it’s so much more special than if we were to see them on a regular basis.

    ~Lisa~ I think the zoo is my favorite spot to take the girls. We’ve been to the Akron Zoo at least 20 times and still each time the expression on their face is always the same. While we can do without the smell from some of the animals (as L. would prefer), we always have a good time, and that’s the most important thing.

    Reply
  • 4. Tara  |  June 12, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Hey there! Looks like you had a great time. We love going to the zoo, too. The penguin picture is really cute.

    Wanted to tell you I started my Felicity hat today. So far so good…about to switch to the bigger needle. At this point though, it sure seems like this hat is going to be WAY too small, so it may end up being a practice hat. That’s OK…I have plenty of time to make another one if I have to…it’s about 100 degrees here and it isn’t going to change anytime soon. It’s hard to even think about warm wool hats. Or going to the zoo. Sigh. How long until October?

    Reply
  • 5. multicrafty  |  June 13, 2008 at 1:06 am

    Thanks Tara!

    Keep going on the Felicity Hat. Trust me, I thought the same exact thing when I was working on the hat but strangely, it all works out in the end. Also, after you start doing your decreases, you might want to do an extra row or two of decreases. I wish I did that on mine, it is my favorite hat though. I was just thinking the other day that I should start knitting up some hats. But that is just pure craziness to start thinking about knitting up hats when it’s 90 degrees out right now. Who knows?

    Reply
  • 6. Tara  |  June 13, 2008 at 7:24 am

    Thanks Angie! I’ll let you know how it turns out!

    Reply
  • 7. multicrafty  |  June 13, 2008 at 9:12 am

    Yes, please do Tara! I meant to ask you, what yarn are you using, I’m thinking of making myself another one now.

    Reply
  • 8. Tara  |  June 13, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    I’m using some Lion Brand wool-ease worsted. It’s a pretty sort of slate-blue color. If it turns out good, I think I’ll go get some softer yarn and make another one…this seems like it may be itchy, especially because it will fit tightly around my head. I’ll post a picture on flickr of the WIP in a day or two.

    Hey…maybe I can ask you this…my sister in law (the one who did the painting) is going to have a baby in Sept and isn’t finding out the gender. I want to knit something, but I have no idea what. Her mom is doing an afgan, so I wanted to do something else. Any ideas? I wish I knew if she’s having a boy or girl!

    Reply
  • 9. multicrafty  |  June 13, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    Yes, being on the head, I never use wool. Plus, it always somehow ends up accidentally felted no matter how careful I wash it. I used Caron Simply Soft and it has been fine.

    I have a baby book of sweaters, soakers, booties, hats, sleeper bags, and other baby stuff. You could make something like that. There small enough that you could get an outfit or two done by time she has the baby. Also, make it in neutral baby colors (yellow, white, mint green) then if she ends up having a girl, add some embroidered flowers to it or something.

    (Here is the link for the book I have. There are so many cute patterns in it that range from 0-3 months to 12months http://www.amazon.com/Leisure-Arts-Baby-Options-Knit-Fashions/dp/B0016MZHZO/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1213376585&sr=8-2)

    Reply
  • 10. Tara  |  June 13, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    Yeah, don’t know what I was thinking using wool…it’s actually only 20% wool, 80% acrylic, so we’ll see. I just liked the color. It still seems REALLY small, but I’ll take your word for it and keep going. I did put a couple pictures on flickr of the WIP.

    Thanks for the link to the book! I will check it out. I like your idea of making something neutral that can be embellished later.

    Reply
  • 11. WIP and a Trip « Multicrafty  |  June 20, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    […] Pittsburgh Zoo!  For those of you who don’t know, it’s a million times better than the Akron Zoo.  Yes, we could save ourselves the extra hour long drive and go up to the Cleveland Zoo (they […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


