Thrifting Wednesday

June 19, 2008 at 10:53 am 7 comments

When your sock progress is slowly (very slowly) coming along, you need to go thrifting.  Almost done with the first one, just have 3 more inches to go.  But it’s those 3 inches that seem to be taking forever.  Luckily, I casted on for the second sock and almost having the ribbing done.

Today I thought I would share with you yesterday’s thrifting loot.  Not a good of a thrifting day as I was hoping for but did manage to get quite a few goodies.

New placemats for the dinner table.  They are so cute and have been handmade.  We’ll see just how long these will last on the table with 2 girls (and a husband, and myself) who are not very careful eaters. 

Two very cute aprons.  The one on the left is going to be worn when I hang clothes out on the line.  It has nice deep pockets, perfect for a hoopla of clothes pins.  The one on the right is now my new favorite one.  Running neck and neck with my current favorite one.  On the downside, this new one don’t have pockets, or a place to put a dishcloth, so I think my favorite one is safe.

Some fun and funky fabric.  The top one will be used sparingly (there’s not alot there) it small little projects such as purses or something.  The bottom one is some beautiful fun floral polyester knit fabric that I’m hoping to make my favorite pattern out of it.

Last but not least, is this cute dutch linen tea towel that I found.  It won’t be used as a tea towel around here (a little bit on the rough side), but I thought it would look cute on the coffee table in the living room (paired up with some of my other thrift store finds).

Entry filed under: thrift finds.

Weekend Progress WIP and a Trip

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tara  |  June 19, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    I have that same pattern! But I haven’t tried using it yet…

    Looks like you had some great finds. I love the Dutch towel.

    Reply
  • 2. multicrafty  |  June 19, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    The pattern is so easy and the results are so cute. Go for it Tara! BTW………….have you got lost in Ravelry yet?

    Reply
  • 3. The Queen of Fifty Cents  |  June 19, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    Sheesh, this is what you consider a not good thrifting day? ;o) These are great finds!

    Reply
  • 4. multicrafty  |  June 19, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    ha! I guess your right Queen of Fifty Cents. I was just sorda in a funk yesterday that’s all. Plus, I usually find a ton of aprons there and some alot more fabric. That’s all.

    Reply
  • 5. lisaannette  |  June 20, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    The blouse pattern is adorable and I think the pattern print that you’ve chose will work very nicely and be very pretty 🙂
    Love all your thrift store finds. Amazing that you can find such good items. Before I married my husband and when I lived back home, I used to go to yard sales and find pretty good things… It was a lot of fun.

    Reply
  • 6. multicrafty  |  June 20, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    I’ve made the pattern before Lisa, and I’ve loved it. This however is a knit fabric, so I think it will be ok. We’ll see.

    I tell ya, it’s almost like an addiction. I don’t like todays styles for the home anymore. I think that’s why I love finding things from thrift stores for my home. Plus, 99% of the things I get remind me of my Grandmother.

    Reply
  • 7. Thrifting Thursday « Multicrafty  |  September 25, 2008 at 8:49 am

    […] reminds me of the one that I found back around the beginning of […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


