Just a little knitting

June 30, 2008 at 2:29 pm 11 comments

Explain to me why a child’s sock is taking me over a week to complete.  This sock has been frogged 3 times.  Now I’m almost complete with the first one then I can work on the second one.

The pattern is Little Guys from the book Knit Socks!  A very easy pattern to follow, unless your me and you somehow mess it up, then accidentally drop 2 stitches but you don’t realize it till your 20 rows ahead of them.  It’s almost complete though, that’s all that matters.  The pattern calls for this furry (crappy) yarn for the cuff but I’m not going to add it.  I hate furry yarn!

Second knitting project is from a pattern that I found via Ravelry.  I’ve been wanting the book Last Minute Knitted Gifts since forever.  I’ve tried to purchase this book 3 times.  Twice, I last minute, decided that I wanted a sock book and Fitted Knits.  The third time, the day before I was going to order it, it was sitting there in my cart at Knit Picks.  The next day I went to order it and KP said that Last Minute Knitted Gifts has been moved to my “save for later” cart as it was unavailable.  Auggh!  So I’ve given up on the book, considering that I’ve browsed Ravelry and seen that there were really only 3 patterns in the book that I was of interest in, the Chevron Scarf, Hourglass Sweater, and Child’s Placket-Neck Pullover.  Loophole found!  I browsed Ravelry for a Chevron Scarf pattern (hoping for a free one, not wanting to spend $3 on something that I could probably figure out myself) and found Kary’s Chevron Scarf pattern by Kary Jarred (ravelry link) with the pattern on her blog here.  Also, there’s a link for a free pattern (also from the book) for the Child’s Placket-Neck Pullover via The PurlBee (pdf link).

Got the Chevron Scarf started, now I’m just waiting for my Knit Picks order to arrive so I can begin the Child’s Placket-Neck Pullover for L.

Entry filed under: knitting.

Pittsburgh Zoo I’m a big kid knitter now

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lisaannette  |  June 30, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    The Chevorn scarf is going to be really pretty. I like those colors that you are mixing together 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Tara  |  June 30, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Hey Angie…I have Last Minute Knitted Gifts. I would be happy to send you a copy of any pattern you want from it. Just email me if ya want!

    Love the colors on the scarf!

    Reply
  • 3. multicrafty  |  June 30, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    Thanks Lisa and Tara! I wasn’t sure about the colors at first. Originally this is(maybe still) going to be for my Mom. But I’m not sure she’ll like the color combinations. She’s more on the conservative side of things so this might be a little to bright for her taste. Me on the other hand, I love the color combination. If anything, I’ll just knit this up for myself then get more yarn later for my Mom’s.

    ~Tara~ I just might take you up on that. I don’t have your email address (I don’t think).

    Reply
  • 4. Tara  |  June 30, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    cldctara@hotmail.com, or you can send flickr mail. I love that hourglass sweater. Someday…..

    Reply
  • 5. Tara  |  July 1, 2008 at 8:17 am

    By the way, are you still working on the kid’s crafting blog? Saw this link today on Craft, and it looks like so much fun: http://brassyapple.blogspot.com/2008/06/spin-art-tutorial.html

    Reply
  • 6. Renna  |  July 1, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    I have that happen sometimes, too. I’ll be knitting a really easy project, but keep making mistake after mistake. It’s so aggravating!

    In case you’re interested, the ladies handwarmer/fingerless mitt pattern from the Last Minute…book is available online at http://www.canadianliving.com/crafts/knitting/cosy_knitted_handwrist_warmers.php .

    Reply
  • 7. Renna  |  July 1, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    I meant to say that the pattern is available for FREE online. 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. multicrafty  |  July 3, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Yes Tara, someday a sweater for me. As far as the kids craft blog, I haven’t really had time to do anything with it. Been busy with other things.

    ~Renna~ It is very aggravating. And thanks for that link!

    Reply
  • 9. sewiknittoo  |  July 7, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    I’m loving that purple for the sock color…by the way looks like we both made the switch to wordpress.

    Reply
  • 10. multicrafty  |  July 9, 2008 at 11:36 am

    thanks! My youngest daughter’s fave color is purple. She actually picked it out.

    Oh, and Blogger was driving me insane with everything, I take it it was driving you insane as well. I’ve not had one problem with wordpress so far.

    Reply
  • 11. :: done :: « Multicrafty  |  August 4, 2008 at 10:20 am

    […] the lovely seaming and weaving.  Once this project is done, I’m going to continue on a few neglected WIPs I have right […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


