Playing catch up

September 19, 2008 at 12:18 pm 6 comments

There has been so much going on right now, with the power outage, as well as a sick kid.  I use this blog as not only a way to “showcase” my latest WIPs, FO’s, etc., but also so that I personally can keep track of what exactly I have going on in my crafting chaos.

It seems to be that every year James gets me something for my birthday and every year I always end up at my sewing machine making it a cozy. Case in point, the circular needles he got me last year for my birthday last year that led to the knitting needle case.  Now this year he got me the Blackberry Curve (which I’m really loving right now, I’m literally addicted to the damn thing) with the hard case that snaps over it.  But being that 99% of it’s time is spent in my purse, I was afraid that the screen would get all scratched up.  So, I made a little case (that after 3 freakin’ times, I finally got it right) to prevent that from happening.  The lining (pictured in the background) is from a thrifted pillowcase, the outer is from some fabric I picked up at a garage sale, buttons from my Grandmother’s stash, and the appliqued flower I cut out from the pillowcase.  Fits perfect and I love it.

 

Other catching up are the knitting projects going on.  Besides for L.’s little socks, I’m also working on some things to keep the girls warm this winter.  I had posted a while ago about a little project I was starting for K. but after messing up twice on the sleeve, I set it aside for some breathing room.  It still sits in my knitting bag…..waiting for completion.

My knitting right now looks like it’s on life support.  Needles, yarn, stitch holders, stitch markers, and extra cables (thank goodness for Knit Picks Interchangeables) I have to be really careful how I pull my knitting out of the bag or else something is bound to go flying.  On the up side though, it’s coming along really nice and I have to say that after working 2 bottom up sweaters, top downs are definitely better!

As well as a sweater project, I’m also working on the girls’ hats.  Like always, I search for the perfect pattern and when I found ilikelemons button tab hat (ravelry link) (or on her blog here)I fell in love.  Properly named 1 of 3 (or maybe 4 if my SIL sees it) I’m making one for K., L., and myself.

The knitting part is complete, just need to weave in ends and find the perfect button for it.  L.’s I think I’m going to do the mistake rib stitch, and mine…….not sure.  (On a side note, those of you doing the February Lady Sweater, any yarn suggestions?  I thought about Knit Picks Bare and then kool-aid dying it myself but I’m not sure)

Last but not least, not sure how many of you read the blog Craft Leftovers (and if you haven’t yet, head over there, I absolutely love her blog) but I signed up for the newsletter and Kristin had a contest last week.  I entered and ending up winning!!!!!!!  The prize, I got to pick up a craft kit from her shop (the tissue holders are really cute)!!!!!!!!!!!! (trust me, it was hard to decide) but I picked out the Lainie’s Tote Bag because I’ve been wanting to make a new “fall” bag for a while now.  The benefit…….comes with all the material that you need as well as 2 beautiful vintage buttons.  Thanks Kristin!!!

Now that it seems I’m all caught up……….I have some work to do, a tempature to take, and card/board games to play.  Hope everyone has a very blessed weekend and I’m hoping to have a giveaway middle of next week.  (Still trying to put it all together).

Entry filed under: knitting, sewing.

The comfy cozy life red

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. belle  |  September 19, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    I lalalalalove that cozy, super duper cute..looks like you been up to some crafty funness. happy birtday lady!

    Reply
  • 2. multicrafty  |  September 20, 2008 at 9:18 am

    Just a bit belle. Thanks for the birthday wishes!

    Reply
  • 3. Lisa  |  September 22, 2008 at 6:52 am

    Knitting on life support! That cracked me up, so funny! I have a few projects like that. Love the colors you picked for the sweater! Very sweet 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. multicrafty  |  September 23, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    I’m serious! I have so many things going on on just that one sweater it’s ridiculous! The colors are actually what was recommended for the sweater. Though my local craft store didn’t have all of them, I had to pick what was closest to the original.

    Reply
  • 5. Tammy  |  October 1, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    I have a blackberry curve too and love the little case you made for yours. Wish you had posted the “pattern” too. LOL! It would take me forever to get one right! Cute, cute!
    Blessings,
    Tammy

    Reply
  • 6. multicrafty  |  October 2, 2008 at 9:03 am

    Sorry Tammy, it took me 3 tries before I finally got it right. Can’t even remember what the final measurements were for it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


