Thrifting Thursday

September 25, 2008 at 8:49 am 3 comments

Come on now, you know I couldn’t pass up posting the goods today.  It’s a sickness really, I could go for weeks on end without stopping at one thrift store, garage sale, or flea market, and then WHAM! I start getting this itching feeling.  It’s an addiction really.  Especially when you go and find some goodies, then you go again, and find more goodies, and it’s really just a downward spiral.  Sad thing is, little L. is joining in on it.  She even hid in the clothes rack yesterday and when I “shopped” for her, she said she was $1.

How cute are these purses!?  Seriously, at first I thought that they were a pile of newsboy hats and after closer looking, discovered they are these cute little interchangeable purses.  (all of them handmade)  They are all in very nice shape and I think I’m going to use one of them (the white one in the middle on the right hand side, it’s a little to “bible cover-y”, it’s pretty fabric-white eyelet lace fabric-just something I would picture on a bible, not for a purse) as a pattern so I can make more.

 


It already has a lining sewn to the handles, all you do is just un-button the outer fabric, slip on a new “purse”, button it up, and head on out the door.  I do think though that I’m going re-sew on the buttons because, as you can tell from the picture, they are literally hanging on by a thread.


A little bolero sweater wrap thing (in a beautiful yellow I might add) and the cutest little button blouse I’ve ever seen.


How cute is this fabric!  It’s a wee bit big on me and so I’m debating whether to hem it down to my size, or cut into it and use it for future projects.  Right now though, I don’t have the heart to cut into it.


Cute and beautiful pillowcases.  Did anyone else watch Rainbow Brite when they were little (or does that show how young I am?)  The floral one will be added to the collection of other pillowcases to-one day-make a quilt for the girls.


Cute orange gingham apron and another linen tea towel.


It reminds me of the one that I found back around the beginning of summer.

On a side note, I think I finally have the give-a-way package all ready.  I’ll be doing it here tomorrow. Just an FYI.

Entry filed under: thrift finds.

red The “This was suppose to be a knitting post” post

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Queen of Fifty Cents  |  September 25, 2008 at 11:16 am

    It’s true that thrifting can be addicting, but what an inexpensive and harmless addiction it is! That purse set is fabbo (I’d probably want to change the buttons to a variety of vintage ones). And the blouse is wonderful–I love that fabric!

    Reply
  • 2. lera  |  September 25, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    That is a good thrift haul. I love that blouse! I used to have a purse similar to that. Mine had wooden handles. I don’t think I had that many covers for mine though. I’ve been thinking an awful lot about it lately, too. I wonder what happened to it …

    Reply
  • 3. multicrafty  |  September 26, 2008 at 8:15 am

    I’m with you on that Queen!

    ~lera~ Thank you so much for taking time to stop by my blog and comment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


