The “This was suppose to be a knitting post” post

September 29, 2008 at 8:50 am 1 comment

*Thank you all who responded to the give a way post!  I’ll be picking a winner today and will announce it tomorrow!  Thanks again!*

I’ve got K.’s hat all done and am almost done with L.’s hat.  I was going to show you the results of it all but that will have to wait.  I gotten a little sidetracked this past weekend by some yummy stuff.

The girls and I went to Dunlap Orchard on Saturday and had a blast picking apples.  L. had never been before but I did take K. when she was 3 or so.  The weather was perfect (it was suppose to rain all day), and I’ve got more apples than I know what to do with.

However, the main reason for my trip was because I’ve been so hungry for homemade applesauce.  The way my Grandmother makes it in fact.  Super easy, and the house smelled so good on Saturday.  So I thought I’d share with you the recipe for Fork Mashed Applesauce.  It makes a nice chunky applesauce (which is just how I like it).  If you don’t like chunky applesauce, you could easily follow this recipe and then place in a food processor if you’d like.

Fork Mashed Applesauce

12-15 Jonathan Apples (is what I used), peeled, cored, and diced
Sugar
Cinnamon
*Note:  I don’t measure everything, everything is done to taste.*

1. Wash hands! (I did say that I was sharing my Grandmother’s recipe didn’t I, that’s the first step in all her baking and cooking)
2. Place diced apples in a pot with just enough water to barely cover them.  Let them boil (I boil mine for about an hour, the softer the better).

3.  After they have boiled, drain out some (not all – about 1/2 to 3/4 of the water) of the water.  Return to stove top and add in sugar and cinnamon to taste.  I added about a cup of sugar and 4 Tbsp. of cinnamon, but that’s how I like mine.

4. Stir and let them cook down over medium to low heat.
5. Continue to stir as well as mash with a fork.  Not constantly, just when I would go in to stir them, I would mash them with a fork a little bit.
6. After you have it to the consistency that you like, remove from heat and enjoy!

 

Taste really good when you pair it up with some apple cider that you purchased from the orchard as well.

On a side note, Martha Stewart has a bunch of recipes for apples as well as crafts using apples.

Entry filed under: rambling on.

Thrifting Thursday Drumroll please!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. lisaannette  |  September 29, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    MMM.. yum.. that sounds so good! I can’t have fruit just yet, but I love apples! Do you make apple pie too? Love that stuff and what about apple butter? That’s good too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


