Drumroll please!

September 30, 2008 at 9:26 am 4 comments

*Once again, thank you to everyone who responded to Friday’s give a way.  While the majority of you picked Fall, a few of you live in states where the weather is hot or not so hot.  I couldn’t imagine living in a state where the seasons didn’t change.  While Fall is my most favorite season, I look forward to the other seasons as well (winter is always “sled riding” season for us).

Research Randomizer Results

1 Set of 1 Unique Numbers Per Set
Range: From 1 to 8Unsorted

Job Status:

     
Set #1: 7

I used this website here to give me a number for the winner, it picked 7 which means that Jenny is the winner!  YAY!  Jenny, send me your contact information and I’ll get your package out to you.  Congratulations Jenny!*
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As I said in yesterday’s post, I’ve been knitting like crazy lately.  Working on hat’s, scarfs, sweaters, socks, etc.  It takes a lot of work to keep this family warm.  Luckily though I got a head start on things back in the summer.  Since I’ve picked up knitting, one thing I decided I was going to do was make the girls a new hat every year.  Hopefully it will be a tradition that will keep as they get older (or maybe they’ll pick up knitting and make me hats every year).  I browse for hat patterns and when I find the one I know will be perfect, I make both of them the same hat, one pink and one purple are the only stipulations I have.

This year that hat pattern of choice had to be ilikelemons button-tab hat (ravelry link).  It’s so cute, and so easy.

 

Made from one skein of Knit Picks Comfy (in Flamingo) and size 6 needles.  It fits her perfect!  The buttons she picked out from my stash.  I completed L.’s hat last evening and just need to weave in the ends and sew on buttons to hers.  (So cute!)

In other knitting news, I received 2 new knitting books while “thrifting on Amazon.  The Closely Knit book and Weekend Knitting have been on my wish list for quite sometime and they both arrived in excellent shape. -Does anyone else buy from the Used and New section of Amazon?-  There are patterns from each book that I want to make for myself as well as the girls (obviously or else I wouldn’t have bought the books), as well as a simple sweater from the Closely Knit book that I think would look handsome on James. 

 

But the knitting thing I’m most excited about is that I purchased enough yarn to make myself a cardigan.  It was a toss up between the February Lady Sweater (which I will make one day) or the At The Lake Cardigan from Knit Picks and the KP one won.  It’s so pretty and simple and the up side was that I could go ahead and purchase the yarn right there along with the pattern.

I don’t really like the collar on the cardigan.  In my opinion, it looks very unfinished and very poorly done, as if they didn’t pick up enough stitches to make it look proper.  That’ll probably be the only thing I change on the whole cardigan. 

Entry filed under: books, in the mail, knitting.

The “This was suppose to be a knitting post” post 2 of 4

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tara  |  September 30, 2008 at 10:36 am

    The button hat turned out great! Looks so cute on your little girl, too.

    Reply
  • 2. lisaannette  |  October 1, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    I’d want longer sleeves on that cardigan, but that’s just me.. and I live in the far north.. LOL! I’ve only made one sweater for myself, but never a cardigan. Good Luck with it.. and I think it is a lovely pattern..

    Reply
  • 3. Carolina  |  November 19, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    HI,
    I’m just about to start knitting this hat for my daughter. Was the only alteration you made going down a needle size or did you decrease the amount of stitches you cast on too?
    Thanks!
    -Carolina

    Reply
    • 4. multicrafty  |  November 20, 2009 at 8:09 am

      Hi Carolina!

      If I am remembering correctly, I went down a needle size and also casted on 5 or 10 fewer stitches. Usually if I find a pattern I really like that is only sized for adults, I’ll just use a lighter weight yarn and smaller needles. So far that has always worked with me, as long as the pattern is simple and does not have pattern repeats.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


