Welcome Fall!

October 3, 2008 at 8:40 am 1 comment

One of my favorite things to do with the girls is go on nature walks.  I’ve been doing it with K. since she had begun walking.  Out looking at how the season is making everything change, collecting leaves, sticks, acorns, and other what nots.

It’s especially nice right now because we can throw in those little bits leftover from Summer as well.  L. and I decided to take a nature walk and we spent a good part of the day out looking at the trees, collecting leaves, flowers, acorns, and spending time just the two of us.

 

When we came back inside, I was thinking of something that her and I could do with our collection we had found.  Something to sorda “save” it.  Remembering back in preschool and kindergarten when we would make collages using wax paper.  AH HA!  L.’s old enough now that our creativity time involves more than just a marker and a piece of paper. We even added in some using just crayon shavings (her favorite thing to do is sharpen crayons and pencils).  They are so pretty and for now will hang up on our big kitchen window till I can think of something better to do with them (suggestions please!).

Her favorite part being to help me with the iron, all the while I kept repeating, “it’s hot hunny, don’t touch it, please hunny, remember that it’s hot, careful” (Ok, so the iron was on very very low heat, but still, to a 4 year olds little skin, that’s really hot)

 

They all especially look really beautiful with the light shining through.

On a side note, I chickened out when I went to begin my sweater project.  Don’t worry, it’ll get done, but for now, I’m going to make the girls this very adorable Bird’s Nest Pincushion (only not using it as a pincushion) from the book Closely Knit.  If you haven’t seen this book, or if you don’t have it, I highly recommend you get it.  It’s my new favorite knitting book.  The patterns are so wonderful and is divided into who you want to make something for.

Entry filed under: books, family life, kid craft, knitting.

2 of 4 :: found ::

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. lisaannette  |  October 6, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    I’m gonna have to take a closer look at that book 😉
    I think this activity you did with the leaves and flower stuffs is very pretty. Maybe consider framing them… or even making a shadow box with the work in the back ground and maybe some dried flowers, etc in the foreground? just a thought …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


