Men at Work

November 12, 2008 at 11:15 am Leave a comment

Yes, I haven’t had hardly any time lately to work on my crafting “to-do” list.  Which in a way is bad considering the things I want to make for the girls for Christmas.

buddah-at-work
James at work.  Photo taken by one of his fellow workers using James’ cell phone.  This picture is actually a pretty sane one he sent me.  Usually I get ones of him 200+ feet in the air on a steel beam.

James works construction as an electrician but has recently passed his welding test and is now one of the few electrician/welders on his job.  So to help him out, I’ve been making him welding hats.  Which are a must for all welders.  Well, he came home the other day and had said that a few guys had asked where he got his welding hat from and asked if I could make them some.  Hence the lack of posting, knitting, sewing, and thrifting (did I mention we are down to one car right now?).  But it’s fun making hats and I have been browsing around the net looking for hat patterns for the girls and I.  See how one thing snowballs into other things.

dsc002151
James hat outer.  I used Alexander Henry Baddana fabric.  I looooove Alexander Henry’s fabric.

dsc002171
The lining fabric.  Also by Alexander Henry.  I’m not to fond of the skulls but it is a nice hat if I do say so myself.

dsc00220
These are just a few of the other ones I’ve made.  I think total I’ve made about 20 of these welding hats.

Other links of interest:
*McHats Etsy shop – she sells not only handmade hats, but hat patterns as well (and in kids sizes YAY!)
*Piper and Paisley Etsy shop – no hat patterns for sale, but they are beautiful!
*Cute Hat Pattern – No directions, but it seems pretty easy to figure out.
*Scoodie – Awesome for kids so you don’t have to keep track of a hat plus a scarf.

Entry filed under: family life, off site tutorials, sewing.

Happy November! Christmas Sewing

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


