Ok so……..now what!?

December 5, 2008 at 1:32 pm 5 comments

My serger arrived!  And now I’m second guessing this “I want a serger so I can properly sew with knits!”.  The thing is scary looking with knifes and needles and threads going every which way.  Looks like a death trap if you ask me.

dsc00358

This weekend I’ll have time to actually sit down and read the manual on how to work it.  Right now though, I managed to lift the thread guide bar up without damaging anything, and I did find the ON/OFF switch.

Maybe I should just take cue from L.  Grab all bubble wrap and air pockets from box, jump up and down on them in the living room, come back into kitchen, grab box that said death trap came in, take back out to living room, and declare “I’ll just sit here for the rest of the day Mama!”  Yes, maybe I should take that cue.

dsc003601

Hope everyone has a very nice weekend!

ETA:  Ok, so while L. was laying down for quite time, I managed to skim over the manual.  Eventually after getting pissed off frustrated that nothing in the manual matched my machine (it’s the right manual, I’m just apparently picture illiterate), I tossed the directions aside, grabbed some fabric, and went for it.  Yes, it will take me some time to get use to keeping the same seam allowance, I did managed to figure out where the knife, upper looper, and lower looper were.  As well as realizing that there is absolutely no room for mistakes when using this contraption.  Still don’t know how to de-activate the knife, nor did I figure out how to do a rolled hem, but at least I’m making some progress on this.  I’ll have to wait for my second early Christmas present that James got me before I’ll feel comfortable using it.  However, I’m in love with the waste chip box thingy that it came with!

Entry filed under: in the mail, sewing.

Building a house In knitting news

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christa Dovel  |  December 5, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    That looks so nice…
    Makes me think I should get my serger out of storage, fit it with the needles I bought for it several months ago, and make it earn its keep.

    Reply
  • 2. belle  |  December 6, 2008 at 9:21 am

    ok it is not the exact same model as mine but just open that little left side door and there is a knob you push in and then you turn the knife knob up and down (super easy) also there is a sliding thingy in there that has an S and a Rt hat is your rolled verses serge chooser then you just adjust the thread tension for the type of rolled himm you want (also super easy) come on girl you can do it !!! think comfy t shirts and cute raglans

    Reply
  • 3. multicrafty  |  December 6, 2008 at 11:05 am

    Thanks for the comments you gals! I’m waiting for this other Christmas gift James got me from Amazon before I’ll actually get into using it. Just takes some time that’s all.

    ~belle~ It has a switch on it that you just slide over, on the face of it. But after reading the manual, it doesn’t really look that simple.

    Reply
  • 4. Lisa  |  December 8, 2008 at 4:45 am

    You are going to have so much fun with it! Can’t wait to see what you accomplish. I’m looking forward to getting a serger in the future (not near), gotta fix a leaky roof first! Houses!
    I’m very happy for you. This will be an excellent adventure!

    Reply
  • 5. multicrafty  |  December 8, 2008 at 11:50 am

    I’m hoping to Lisa. They have some decent priced one. I think Singer has one that’s less than $200. But yes, leaky roof come first.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


