finally

December 14, 2008 at 10:20 am 1 comment

dsc003851Finally our tree is up and it’s really starting to feel like the Christmas season.  The girls are so excited and we spent the majority of the day decorating the house for Christmas.  While we don’t have a chimney, we had to explain to L. that Santa will still come into our house.  We hang a little stocking on the front door with a “key” to our house that will let Santa in.  K., on the other hand, I have a feeling that this will be the last year for Santa.  L. is just getting into all of it and it’s fun to watch her eyes light up with excitement from everything.

Ornaments consist of ones collected over the years whether they have been bought, handmade by the girls, or thrifted.  But the ornaments I’m really excited about our the ones that came from our good friend and glassblower K.C.  Beautiful orbs that hang from the tree.  Not one is like the other and all picked out with much help from K.  12 of them to be exact (was 13 but I gave one to my Mom last night).

 

 

dsc004411

This one above is my favorite.  You can’t tell exactly from the picture (it’s hard to capture the “true color” of things) but it’s mostly clear with color blobs (that’s what K. calls them) of white and green.  Very very pretty.

dsc004451

dsc00447

Last night then we took the girls on the Polar Express.  K. had been on it once before when she was 3 years old.  It’s so much fun, you get to wear your pj’s (which is right up my girls alley), drink hot chocolate, visit the North Pole, and best part is, you get to do it all on a train ride.

dsc00424

My cousin’s little girls got to go with us this year which made it all the more special for my girls.  They had a ton of fun, laughing, giggling, and enjoying each other’s company.  The train left Canton then traveled all the way up to the North Pole (in only a matter of 45 minutes, never knew the North Pole was that close).

Now that I’m officially in the holiday spirit, I have some Christmas presents that need finishing, 1 that needs started, cookies to bake, and lots and lots of Christmas stories to read about.

Entry filed under: around the house, family life.

:: what I love :: making

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. lisaannette  |  December 15, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    Oh, Wow! Your tree is perfect, so cute! I don’t even have one decoration out yet. I did send one present out today (huge for me) I can’t seem to remember to send packages. I’ve only bought very few gifts.. and need to get more and finish my apron projects… I’m going to be crazy next week.

    Looks like you guys had tons of fun with the train ride. Very adorable. North Pole is about a 8 hour drive from here (during the winter anyway).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


