My favorite washcloth

December 29, 2008 at 11:55 am 2 comments

dsc_0770I know that this pattern has been around for a while now and I think it’s usually called Grandma’s dishcloth, but it’s got to be my favorite one to knit up.  It’s super easy and I’m always making them for my kids (that’s a good thing, that means they bathe on a daily basis).  And in fact, I made a few for a swap I had did last year, only those weren’t my modified version.

I’ve tweaked the pattern a bit, and even added a 2 stitch I-cord that later gets sewn into place as a loop hanger.

 

Materials:
Size 8 straight knitting needles
2-size 8 DPN’s (or a size 8 circular needle)
Any worsted weight cotton yarn (I used Lily Sugar ‘n Cream in Grape, love that stuff, I buy it at Pat Catan’s for under $2 and can get quite a few washcloths out of it, I’ve also used Lion Brand Cotton-Ease and it’s pretty nice too)

dsc_0773

CO4 sts
Row 1: k
Row 2: sl1, k1, yo, k across
Repeat row 2 until it’s the desired width (I usually go about 28 sts for the kids and about 35 stitches for an adult)
Begin decreasing
Next row: sl1, k1, yo, k1, k2tog, k2tog, k across
Repeat this row till you have 5 stitches left
Next row: sl1, k1, yo, k3tog 

dsc_0775
Switch to DPN’s and work in I-cord until desired length of loop.  Cut yarn and weave through those 2 remaining stitches, then stitch it down to the washcloth using a simple whip stitch.  Weave in ends and your done.

Entry filed under: knitting.

Hope your’s was Before it’s all down……

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lisaannette  |  December 29, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    Your pattern is a little bit different than the one I love to knit up. Aren’t these the best! I like yours and I just might try it. I always get request for these, matter of fact, I knit my mother 4 while she was visiting me.

    Reply
  • 2. Casey  |  December 29, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    seriously, I need to learn how to knit! I want some knitted washcloths

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


