A buck a hat

January 3, 2009 at 4:38 pm 1 comment

Last weekend I had gone to Pat Catan’s to purchase some yarn.  For those of you not in Ohio and parts of Pennsylvania, it’s a craft store that’s geared more towards scrapbooking, home arts, and a really nice kids craft section, but has a nice little section of yarn, embroidery, hooks/needles, canvas, etc.  They carry mostly name brand yarns such as Lion Brand, Paton’s, Caron, Red Heart (but not their full line of these yarns, I wish they did) as well as a yarn called Palette Collection by Darice.  It’s mostly novelty/carry along yarns (that I’m not really into) but they do have a few nice yarns such as Australian Wool, and mixed fiber yarns.  They sell for pretty cheap as well.  My favorite by them being the #034 which is now discontinued.  So I managed to snag up the last few skeins of Autumn left for $0.50/skein!

dsc_0994 

dsc_0988

As soon as I got home, I started thinking of what exactly I could make with this yarn.  I mean, I only had 3 skeins (66 yds./skein) of it so I knew it couldn’t be a big project.  Then I realized that it wouldn’t be a terrible thing to knit myself up another hat.  This one is the “trial and error” hat.  I like it and was going for sorda a slouch-but-not-to-slouchy type of hat.  It’s a bit loose on my noggin but is made of 51%wool, 49%acrylic so I’m thinking that I can hand felt it a bit to see if it’ll shrink up some.

dsc_0978  dsc_0977  dsc_0979
(all pictures above are clickable)

The yarn also is a thick and thin yarn which took just a little bit of getting use to.  I’m going to tweak with my pattern and come up with one that’s just a little bit more slouchy.  I do really love this hat though and wore it today when the girls and I took my brothers’ dog for a walk this afternoon (it was comfy and warm!). 

Entry filed under: knitting.

Happy New Year!!!!! oh so sleepy

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  January 3, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    It is really cute! and wow! what a score… You did a great job. I like those colors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


