The start of something wonderful

January 6, 2009 at 9:19 am 1 comment

There are a few projects that I would like to work on this year that involve short rows.  Before, in the past, short rows have been my kryptonite.  In my defense though, I have tried to do short rows before (here, and not to mention the times I’ve tried just for practice) and it just came out looking like a mess.  You could see my wraps on the knit side, half the time I couldn’t see them on the purl side, and it was just overall a mess.

Last night (after everyone went to bed, that’s usually when I get things done) I Googled “how to do short rows” and was amazed by the amount of knitters that took the time to explain (in detail) how to do short rows.  CosmicPluto(love her blog) has a tutorial, misocrafty another, and so on.  They were all great tutorials, but my problem is that sometimes I have trouble learning things by pictures.  So, I remembered that I had found a video tutorial on YouTube by the infamous Cat Bordhi (part 1 part 2) (on a side note, I love how she explains things!).

Bingo Bango!

Finally it all clicked, I was seeing the wrap stitches, working back and forth, and after just a bit, I GOT IT!!!!!  It is no longer my krytonite, but the start of a new friendship.

dsc_1197

dsc_1199

The top photo is the side where I had to do the wraps on the purl side, didn’t come out to bad, alot better than before (trust me, it was a mess).  Bottom picture is my short row on the knit side, pretty good if you ask me.

Now I can feel a little more confident working on a project that involves short rows.

Entry filed under: knitting, off site tutorials.

oh so sleepy excuse me while I vent

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. lisaannette  |  January 6, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    I’ve never knit socks with that type of heel before, but I like it. I just might have to remember that and try it on my next pair. Is that without a heel flap?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


