excuse me while I vent

January 7, 2009 at 10:55 am 2 comments

If you came here looking for something regarding sewing, knitting, crocheting, crafting, etc. please skip ahead to another post while I vent.

As I’m sure many of you have heard by now that February 10th will be National Bankruptcy Day.  CPSIA is enforcing an act that will require all items geared towards children 12 and under will have to go through testing before they can be marked as “safe” (because you know how us moms love to infest our precious children with lead).  While this may be fine for the corporate companies (insert your choice of company who back in 2007 had to recall thousands of toys) think of the small business owners who have spent years building not only their company but their trust with their customers (case in point, my Mom got the Polar Express train set for L. for Christmas from Trains n Toys located in North Canton).  Ask yourself this question, can you afford the $4,000 fee to have each item you make tested for lead?

So how exactly does this affect me and why am I writing a post about it? 

It affects me on so many levels.
1. I’m a Mother and my #1 priorty is my childrens safety
2. I make things for my children and have a love for all things handmade
3. I’ve been planning to re-open my Etsy shop after L. goes to pre-school this coming Fall (filled with items for not only children and adults as well).

So what exactly can you do about it?  There is a ton of information over at handmadetoyalliance.org as well as petitions, writing your Congressman and your Senator.  Or my personal favorite, the CPSIA Endangered Children’s Products and Toys Flickr group.

I’ll agree that while CPSIA is doing a good thing, they didn’t think of all the small business owners who take the extra time, money, and energy to hand pick/hand make safe toys to sell in their shop.  Once again though, it goes along with that good ol’ saying “one person screws it up for everybody!”

There is just a little over a month to get this issue taken care of.  Please don’t hesitate, put-off, let it wait till tomorrow to do something about it today!

savehandmade1

Vent over, return to day as normal.

Entry filed under: rambling on.

The start of something wonderful A girl and her bunnies

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lisaannette  |  January 7, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    I was going to blog about this this very morning.. maybe I will in another way. Thank you for bringing this to the attention of your readers. Together, we can all see change happen. I’m writing my senators this morning.

    Good Vent!

    Reply
  • 2. multicrafty  |  January 7, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Please do Lisa! I think the more the word spreads, the more they’ll have to listen to us.

    On a side note, do you know how many times I had to edit this (ahem, remove curse words out of pure anger) before I could actually post this in a nice way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


