A girl and her bunnies

January 9, 2009 at 10:19 am 1 comment

L. absolutely loves bunnies.  It all started when K. had a bunch of stuffed animals that she was going through to donate a few years ago.  I had asked L. if she would like to pick 2 stuffies (as we call them in our house) to keep for herself.  I can’t remember the one she picked, but the other she picked was a sweet little bunny that has since gone by the name Rosie.

dsc_12721

As you can tell from the picture above, Rosie is a very well loved bunny.  She has matted fur, has been through the wash on numerous accounts.  Has been there for L. through sickness and in health, has been left at a store a time or two (only later to discover that she had been left, then frantically driving back and re-tracing our steps, all the while I’m carrying a crying kid), has been on every family outing we’ve ever had.  Rosie is sorda the “trouble maker” in the group.  She’s not a morning person, has thrown a few temper tantrums, accuses Stripey (a snake Daddy won for L. at the 4th of July fair) of stealing her carrots, and is usually takes the blame for things that L. does.

Then theres Cotton, a sweet loving bunny who is quiet, shy, loves Rosie, and is a night owl so she stays awake at night to make sure Stripey won’t steal Rosie’s carrot (I’m not making this stuff up, I swear).

dsc_1276

Cotton is rather new to the bunch and is equally well loved by L.  Cotton is the one that – when L. spends the night at my Mom’s – stays home with me to take care of me (again, I’m not making this stuff up, it’s because L.’s afraid no one will be there in the morning to talk to me).

Rewind to yesterday when I decided L. needed a new “friend” to add to her group.  I had remember about that pattern I had seen in the library book (used my brain and everything and had it all traced/cut out before I returned the book) and made L. a new bunny.

dsc_1270

This bunny was named Sara by L.  Still new to the bunch, hasn’t developed her full personality yet, quiet, and has really taken to Cotton (Rosie wasn’t happy when she and Sara met for the first time).  She was definetly handmade with love and care (although I still find it nerve racking trying to make dolls.  Just need to keep working at it.), using L.’s favorite color (purple) and some remnant fabric from my stash.

dsc_1271

She’s a little wonky looking, but was a learning experience for me (I finally mastered stitching the opening closed without seeing my stitching!).  Nor does she have her bushy tail – yet! (Need to get a pom-pom maker rather than doing it the ol’ fashion way)  While there will be a few more “Sara” made in the future (that’ll hopefully get better as I go) L. absolutely loves her and even slept with her last night *heart melts*.

Entry filed under: family life, sewing.

excuse me while I vent snow day

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. lisaannette  |  January 9, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Sara is an adorable bunny. You did a great job. I love the story bits! So cute.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


