recycled cards kids make

January 14, 2009 at 8:19 am 2 comments

If its one thing I’ve come to know about children, it’s that they love to make things out of anything.  We have a box that we throw miscellaneous papers in: grocery store fliers, old magazines, junk mail, grocery receipts (they love playing grocery store, although I have to say that L.’s store is a bit expensive-cup of coffee for $50.00-yikes!), and any other non-important papers.

dsc_13411

It can get a bit out of hand, so I’ve been thinking of other things we can do with the papers and then it hit me how infatuated they’ve been with the mail lately.  They love getting mail, sending mail, and sending mail to each other.  They especially love sending family and friends their drawings/colorings and think it’s awesome that all they have to do is drop it off at the lady with the cat (small town post offices have cats named Scanner) and then a few days later they get a phone call with a “Thank you!” on the other end.

So I put all these thoughts together in my head and thought that we could take their love of mail, mix in some recycled papers, and top it all off with a big helping of their creativity and make greeting cards that they could send to people.

dsc_1366

dsc_1344
K. carefully cutting out bouquets of flowers from the grocery store flier

dsc_1355
These cards are going to my Mom so I thought it would be fun for them to “search” for things that they like to do at Grandma’s house.  This is L.’s and she picked a bouquet of flowers from a grocery flier, the word story from an old magazine (because my Mom read’s them stories), a skirt from a clothing magazine (L. loves to wear skirts), and blueberries (behind the skirt) from a grocery flier (L. loves to eat blueberries at my Mom’s).

dsc_1358
K. picked a bunch of floral stuff because my Mom has a beautiful garden when it’s in full bloom and she allows the girls to pick different flowers from it.

But my most favorite idea was one that K. came up with.  She had found this stamp on the back of an old envelope that said 100% recycled paper and thought it would be a great idea to put it on the back of the card.  (I thought it was a pretty clever idea of hers)

dsc_1360

The basis of the bags were lunch paper sacks.  We don’t use them for actual lunches, just for our crafting sickness.

Entry filed under: kid craft, recycled crafting.

snow day :: what i love ::

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lisaannette  |  January 14, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Clever mother = clever children 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. belle  |  January 22, 2009 at 1:14 am

    I just love these. I cannot wait for burger to be able to use his scissors. What talented young ladies you are raisin’…proud mama

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


