knitted socks

January 21, 2009 at 10:34 am 1 comment

I’ve been chuggin’ along on my one lil’ toe  up sock slowly.  Only one for now to make sure I get the sizing right, short rows correct, and to see if I’ll actually  like toe-up compared to cuff down.

dsc_1474

I followed Wendy’s generic toe-up sock pattern and only tweaking it just a bit.  MODS:  Used KnittingHelp.com’s provisional cast-on video, casted on 28 sts, worked in short rows till I had 10 wrapped sts on each side and 8 live stitches for the toe.  Worked in stockinette for 7″ then worked short row heel till I had 9 wrapped sts on each side and 10 live stitches.  The fit is absolutely perfect and my mods came out correct the first time!  WOOHOO!  Till binding off happened and I BO loosely, or so I thought.  I have to carefully wiggle it past my heel to get it on.  Once it’s on it fits (and is so comfy!) but that stupid BO!

dsc_14751

Oh yes, and when joining back to the remaining sts, after working short row heel, I got a nice big hole (on both sides)!  It gives it character.  Eh! On ravelry when I gave the details for the project, I had stated that I was making myself shorties (as I call them) and  make K. a matching pair.  So, I’m going to frog this sock, start over (this time two at a time) and re-work the entire sock with a nice stretchy bind off (hopefully!)

Entry filed under: knitting.

:: what i love :: yoga and knitting

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. lisaannette  |  January 21, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    I like the pictures, cute! and the colors you choose, especially the green. I’ve never done a toe up. I would if I would like it better? Hm..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


