machine and needles

January 29, 2009 at 8:55 pm 2 comments

It’s been a while since I actually sat down at my sewing machine and made something. I blame it solely on the fact that I gave up my craft room.  It feels good to be back behind the driver seat again.  (Oh, and I did break in my serger, but more on that later.)

As I had said, I’m in a Knit Picks swap over on Ravelry and I couldn’t wait to show what I’m making for my partner.  It’s a secret swap so even if anyone peeks over here, they won’t know it’s for them till it arrives in their mailbox.  (I have a bad habit of not keeping secrets, hence I’m just showing this one little bit, the rest will have to wait).

Every knitter, rather beginner or experienced, can verify that the one thing they love is a little gadget bag – maybe it’s just me, who knows.  Holding stitch markers, pens, stitch holders, row counters, etc.  They would all be lost if one didn’t have such a bag.

dsc_1606

dsc_1610

I finally broke down and made something with a zipper, and I have to say that I absolutely love it (that’s the problem with swaps, you make things that you love so much then don’t want to give them up).  While I don’t have a zipper foot (it has a little something to do with the fact that I let my children play with my stuff and I have a 1982 Singer and don’t know where to find one at) it was actually a lot easier than I had anticipated.

The tutorial I used was a mix of one I found on Craftster and one I found on Purlbee.  The pouch is fully lined, but I only had a 7″ zipper on hand so I used the measurements from the Purlbee.

And being that my notions bag looks something a little like this, I think I’ll have to make myself one just so I can give this one up.

As far as knitting, I’m still working on my toe up socks and have a few other projects going on that I hope to get completed with in the month.  I’ve made a promise to myself not to start any new projects till my Ravelry projects page has nothing but FO’s – we’ll see how long that last, need to stop browsing Ravelry and get knitting.

dsc_1603

It’s actually a lot better now and not so nerve racking.  No longer getting my balls tangled up (sorry, that didn’t mean to sound dirty).

And yes Lisa, I know I’ve been tagged and I will get to that eventually (running a little behind).

Entry filed under: knitting, sewing.

around our house blogging friends

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  January 30, 2009 at 3:26 am

    ha.. ha.. You’ve been tagged.. I know nothing! 😉

    I secretly hope that I’m the recipient of such wonderful goods! It is sweet 🙂 now your balls.. that’s another thing entirely 😉 I’ve had to much sugar tonight. Love the color of those socks, but I have a pair of socks going… and I don’t know what is next on my knitting agenda…

    Reply
  • 2. Beth  |  February 1, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    looks lovely! I think I may have to make one for my embroidery bits!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


