I broke it in!

February 5, 2009 at 2:38 pm 2 comments

As I had said a few days ago that I had made my first project using my serger and that I would share later.  Well, it’s later and I’m sharing.

A while ago James had gone to a Clutch concert with some friends of his and had gotten a Clutch shirt that was a 2X.  Now, James is a pretty big guy but concert shirts sometimes run small (as did this 2X) so he gave it to me to use as a night shirt.  Insert serger, one day while he was at work, and 2 little girls who kept themselves occupied in their rooms the majority of an afternoon one day.

serger1

Using the shirt pattern from the SewU Home Stretch book and the shirt as my fabric, I managed to resize the shirt to fit me!  A few things I learned:  1. it is important to have matching thread in your left needle as that is the thread than can sorda be seen from the public side, 2. the knife is sharp! keep all fingers away from knife! and 3. I LOVE ROLLED HEM!!!!!!!!!!!!  While I don’t think my rolled hem came out right (I thought the stitches were closer together, maybe I read the directions wrong), it sure beats have to fold, iron, press, pin, then sew fabric into place.

serger3
Inside finished seam

serger51
Rolled hem collar (as well as the edge of the sleeves and the hem on the shirt)

serger6
The fit is awesome! (I used the size M because I was afraid the small would come out too small) It’s a little big in the chest area but that’s only cause I lack boobage.

serger7

I feel way more comfortable now with my serger and can’t wait to work on my next project!  I’m thinking a Spring skirt for myself and Spring skirts for the girls (hey! I know it’s only February and there is still a foot or two of snow on the ground but I’m gettin’ Spring fever).

ETA:  I forgot to add this picture which gives a better view of the shirt.

serger4

Entry filed under: sewing.

winter blahs beginner’s luck

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lera  |  February 5, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    How cute is that? You did a great job.

    I bought a serger about a year ago (or less?) and broke out that bad baby the same day. I couldn’t wait to get started. Even though I was scared to death of it.

    Reply
  • 2. belle  |  February 5, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    love it!! yay …yes very sharp knife. I cannot wait to see your serger creations!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


