Crafting through the insanity

February 19, 2009 at 8:20 pm 3 comments

Yes, let’s call this post just that.  It’s been a rather hectic week, started with a trip to the ER on Monday (we’re all fine, just James got a nice piece of metal in his eye at work) and ended this evening with dinner (fresh and hot from the oven) dropped on the floor.  Hold on, let me check…………yep, still haven’t pulled all my hair out.

To keep me sane (for the most part) I turn to my stress reliever……….crafting.  Knitting has rather taken a backseat since my toe up socks are slowly hitting the UFO section, but I refuse to add another WIP to my list so until I get these damn socks done, I’m not going to start another project!

So, being that my serger and sewing machine are not on speaking terms right now – don’t ask! I decided to turn to an old good friend of mine………embroidery.

embroidery1

Yes, apparently I’m surrounded in WIP’s with every craft I take part in.  L.’s thing is complete, picked up K.’s again today to finish it, and have been working on a few other projects.

embroidery3

The one above was inspired by a coloring book page from the girls coloring books.  I tried to trace it but eventually, I gave up on that one (lost the coloring book page) and came up with my own.  I actually like it and my favorite part is the little blue bird.  Not sure what exactly I’m going to do with it, but I do know that it proves I have spring on my mind (thanks to a little thing called waking up to blistery cold snow!)

embroidery4

Can’t remember where I got the one above, it was either from a flea market find, or an ebay lot purchase.  Either way, this is how I found it.  Cute and unfinished.  I’m of course going to finish it and I have a little idea for it too (it’s not that big of a square, probably 5″x4″).

And lastly, finish organizing my embroidery supplies and untangle the many (many) threads I have (as well as find these embroidery transfers my Grandma gave me, I’m really really kicking myself in the tooshie for losing them).

embroidery5

 

Entry filed under: embroidery.

Happy Valentine’s Day!! Ravelry Knit Pick Swap :Sent:

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  February 20, 2009 at 5:11 am

    You are one talented lady! I love all your embroidery 🙂

    I feel the same way as you do about the WIPs.. I have to finish everything I’ve got going before I add one more thing to it (on needles that is).. I’m still planning for the future though 🙂

    Yikes, ER! glad you guys are alright. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Rebecca  |  February 21, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    I remember embroidering at my aunt’s when we were little. I’m sure they weren’t very good… but it was fun. 🙂

    I love the little spring scene. If it were mine, I would applique it onto one of those hanging clothes pin bags.

    Reply
  • 3. multicrafty  |  February 21, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Lisa ~ Yes, were all fine, although the girls were hoping he’d have to wear an eye patch and look like a pirate.

    Rebecca ~ I was thinking either something like that, or make an apron (I wear an apron with clothes pins in it to hang the clothes out on the line) and applique it onto there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


