Sunday sewing

April 7, 2009 at 8:05 am 2 comments

James had taken the girls out on Sunday for a Daddy/daughter date which left me home…..alone…….with no interruptions.  Well what else was a lady to do but get to work on some Spring and Summer clothing (oh it was so nice!).

lpcase11

lpcase21

My favorite way to make a skirt for the girls are using up thrifted pillowcases (picked up with last weeks haul).  Takes all of about 10 minutes to complete and always looks so cute.  The one above I made for L.  I managed to find 4 of the same pillowcases at the thrift store last week (very rare) and when L. had learned I was making myself a skirt out of 2 of them, she asked if she could have a skirt as well.

And of course I couldn’t just stop there.  If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’ll come to find that my favorite “go to” pattern for L. is Butterick 4910, which I have made time and time again (if you don’t want to buy the pattern, Vegbee has a tutorial to make a peasant blouse on – my new favorite blog – Just Tutes).

lshirt11

The green fabric is a batik I got from GotFabric.com and the floral is from JoAnn’s.  The pink ric rac came from my Grandma’s stash.

lshirt21

lshirt31
(My little trick to help the girls determine the front from the back is adding remnants of ric rac.  Works everytime!)

Besides all the sewing I’ve been doing for the girls, I did manage to squeeze in a little sewing for myself.  I’ve been wanting new pajama pants for quite awhile and when I picked up these 2 vintage pillowcases (again from last weeks haul) I knew they would be perfect for Spring pajama pants.

yogapant1

yogapant2  yogapant3

They are the “Wear anywhere yoga pants” from the book S.E.W. by Diana Rupp.  Just a simple drawstring, wide leg pair of the world’s most comfortable pair of pants.  As I had said, I just used 2 pillowcases as my material, making sure I lined everything up so one leg wasn’t longer than the other.  Also, I used the bottom of the pillowcase as my hem, making these super quick and super easy.

yogapant5

yogapant4

While it may seem that it was a lot of sewing, it’s basically just the tip of the iceburg.  I’ve got Spring/Summer skirts on the brain, new tops, and who knows what else my brain will come up with to make.  Not to mention the pile of things sitting on my sewing table.

sewwip

Entry filed under: recycled crafting, sewing.

the birthday post oh dear

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lisaannette  |  April 7, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Love the peasant top and who knew pillowcases could make such beautiful items! The pj’s are adorable! I’m going to go look at that pattern. It is adorable!

    Reply
  • 2. belle  |  April 9, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    wow these are all so beautiful you busy girl! I will have to think about your serger woes expect an email this weekend. I just thriftred the blue sheet version of the yoga pants fabric..I tell you we are long lost sisters! I will be in touch after the market

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


