those rainy days

April 14, 2009 at 12:27 pm 5 comments

Ever since I saw this post on her blog, I’ve been super hungry for fresh, homemade, bread (next time I think were going to have to use the WHO bread recipe).  I use to bake bread all the time, but that was in a bread machine that got lost during a move.

bread1Those cold, rainy, stay in the house all day days are perfect for baking bread.  Why!? well….
1. there’s nothing else to do except read books and play games (all can be done while the bread is rising)
2. you have to stay inside which means you get those yummy bread smells traveling through your nose all day.
3. when the house already needs cleaned, why not make a little more of a mess

Yes, rainy days are perfect for baking bread if you ask me.

bread2

bread3
(my “fancy” rolling pin)

bread4

bread5

bread7

Oh yes, the perfect rainy day activity/snack is homemade bread.  Both of the girls have dubbed rainy days as “bread makin’ days” and I have to fully agree with them.  I do see lots of bread makin’ in our future!

Entry filed under: family life.

oh dear wips

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alittlebitofscrap  |  April 15, 2009 at 12:42 am

    OH yum!! I love love bread… I used to love baking on rainy days too. I think it brings out the secret chef in everyone 🙂
    I have no clue how to make good bread.

    Reply
  • 2. nancy scalf  |  April 15, 2009 at 5:36 am

    My dad gave me a knob of dough from what he was working on when I was five and simply said “Now here’s how you kneed it.” Then he proceeded to show me. I’ve loved baking ever since.
    And you’re right baking on a rainy day lifts everyone’s spirits
    Nancy

    Reply
    • 3. multicrafty  |  April 15, 2009 at 8:54 am

      Thank you for visiting Nancy!

      I love that you said your Dad, my Dad in the kitchen meant he was looking for the phonebook to order pizza.

      Now my Mom on the other hand would bake cookies with us and always gave us our own dough to play with.

      Reply
      • 4. nancy scalf  |  April 15, 2009 at 12:30 pm

        Honey I’ve been enjoying your blog and had become worried when you hadn’t posted for several weeks last month. (Like I have alot of right to talk about that!!) Anyway your knitting needle roll was the first thing I ever sewed so you and your blog will always have a place in my heart!

        Nancy

  • 5. belle  |  April 15, 2009 at 9:43 am

    yum yummy!! great photos

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


