rainy day play

May 6, 2009 at 8:30 am 3 comments

When the rain is pouring down, I have this thing about not letting my children outside, they don’t get my reasoning, but maybe you do.  So to distract them from that urge to go and splash in puddles and avoid getting struck by lightening, I turn to my #1 thing and that is kids crafts.  We love to paint mostly and hey, who cares if you get paint on the floor, it can all be scrubbed up.  But I didn’t want to do our usual painting (as L. seemed to have used up all of hers from the last time we painted).  I remembered that I saw this puff paint recipe on One Crafty Mumma’s blog.

dsc_3280

dsc_3295

We didn’t have a nice thick sheet of cardboard, so I had to improvise and grab cereal boxes out of the recycling bin (after all, that’s what it’s there for right).

dsc_3283

L.’s favorite part of the whole ordeal was watching the paint puff up in the microwave.

dsc_3287

dsc_3292

dsc_3291

Seriously, how cool is that!?  She said that they did theirs in the microwave for 30 seconds and ours only took 20 seconds, so if you do this, I would recommend starting out at 15 or 20 seconds and see if it’s all the way dry.  It all depends on the power of your microwave though.  Anyways, it was a lot of fun and the girls really enjoyed doing it.  And as far as the recipe, it’ll still work if you add a smidge to much water (as we found out).

 

Entry filed under: kid craft, off site tutorials.

quick post The start of Summer sewing

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. belle  |  May 6, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    HI mama wanted to let you know I gave you an award today on my blog. You are awesome

    Reply
  • 2. One Crafty Mumma  |  May 7, 2009 at 1:49 am

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the puff paint! Thankyou for posting a link too.

    You have such a lovely blog here, I’ll definitely be back for another peek.

    Have a lovely week!

    Reply
    • 3. multicrafty  |  May 7, 2009 at 6:46 am

      Thank you so much for stopping by! My girls really enjoyed it and it is something that we will make again! Thank you for the recipe!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


