some winter warmth

September 27, 2009 at 8:01 pm Leave a comment

Seems rather silly doesn’t it, the start of one season and I am already talking about another. I like to plan ahead I guess.

Don’t think my little hiatus meant I was not crafting. Oh no! A lot of winter knitting has been keeping me busy. Not really sure if I have mentioned it here before but, I am self-taught at everything (even my parenting).

Back in 2006, I taught myself how to crochet, and then while browsing for crochet patterns; I kept stumbling across knitting patterns. Getting frustrated that all these appealing knit patterns kept making their way to my saved folder on the computer; I bought some needles and learned how to knit at a Stitch n Bitch group in early 2007.

One would think that crocheting would be the one I’d scamper to when I have the urge to make something, but knitting is in my heart. Crocheting still has its appeal to me, but I cannot oppose to the sound of the aluminum clicking between my fingers.

So earlier this summer, I was leafing through the ever addicting Ravelry and came across some fresh ideas to start my winter knitting. After all, I need to start early to keep my family warm during our cold Ohio winters.

DSC_4144

DSC_4141

Pattern: Mountain Nights Toque (link opens in a new window)
Source: BohoKnits (have a look around her blog, she has a lot of amazing…FREE!…patterns)
Yarn: 1.25 skeins of Knit Picks Swish Worsted in Wisteria
Needles: Size 6 and size 7
Mods: Lots of mods. This pattern called for bulky weight yarn and add in the fact that I making it for a child size noggin. CO 88 sts on size 6 needles, knit for 3″ then switched to size 7, knit for 6.5″ from cast on before starting decreases. Fits L. perfectly (love when I do mods and they come out right the first time!!)

DSC_4201

DSC_4193

DSC_4192

Pattern: Girls Cap Sleeved Spring Shirt (or as L. calls it “The Perfectly Purple Playground Top”)
Source: Soulful Hues Etsy Shop (the pattern use to be free when only one size was available, that was when I downloaded it)
Yarn: 1.5 skeins of Blue Sky Alpacas Dyed Cotton in Orchid
Needles: Size 6 for ribbing, switched to size 8 for body
Mods: None really, followed JCHandmade mods for the sleeves (Ravelry Link)

thorpe1

thorpe2

thorpe4

Pattern: Thorpe
Source: Through the Loops
Yarn: 1.2 skeins of RYC Alpaca Soft in Old Rose (looove this yarn! So soft and knits up beautifully!!!) and 0.5 skein of Knit Picks Crayon in Kingfisher (Eh! Not crazy about that yarn)
Needles: Size 9
Mods: The only mod was I knit for 5.5″ from top before starting garter stitch brim. And added a funky pompom!!
Overall, this hat is my favorite handknit item I have ever made!! I have never made a pompom before (I found a tutorial video on how to make pompoms but can’t remember the link right now). It is beautiful and it fits K. perfectly (and I don’t mean size wise, I mean it fits her fun and funky personality).

DSC_4475

Last but not least is a granny square afghan I have been working on. Eleven squares down, many more to go. There are so many stunning granny square afghans out there. Not just in the blogging world mind you, but at thrift stores and flea markets as well. Temptation has struck me every time I think of purchasing such a handmade item. But with some stains, some overpriced, and knowing that more than a few of them are made out of scratchy acrylic, I decided that making one for our living room would be the best way to go.

I love granny square afghans, I love all the color that goes into them, and I love how each block is different, and yet they all go together in the end. The pattern is not really anything big. Just a basic granny square block that could be found for free anywhere I am sure. I have the book “99 Granny Squares to Crochet” and in there is a basic granny square pattern. Only that pattern required you to make some chain loops every other round. Seemed rather pointless to do that extra work, not to mention use up that extra yarn. So, I will take my granny square afghan day by day and square by square. Hoping that by the end of this year, my family and I will have a little handmade goodness to wrap ourselves up in when watching movies or reading books. After all, here in Ohio, winter may last until April or May. 

Entry filed under: crochet, knitting, off site tutorials.

because I’ve got it that good music to my ears

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


