keep knitting away

October 8, 2009 at 7:46 am 2 comments

A long time ago (before Miss L. came along) James and I took K to see Finding Nemo. It is a very cute movie and I do not care to find that fish anymore. To get to my point, Dory would sing this song “Just keep swimming! Just keep swimming” and now when I sit and knit, I sing a similar version of the song “Just keep knitting! Just keep knitting!” In my head though, good gosh, if I sang out loud I would hurt my girls’ ears and make the dog howl.

When I first started out knitting, I would only be able to knit a few rows. Then I pushed myself with small goals “get the ribbing done on a hat”, “knit for X amount of inches” etc. It makes my projects go a little quicker.

A few years ago I made L. a chevron scarf, so when I was looking for a scarf pattern for myself last month, I decided to revisit the pattern with smaller needles and different yarn. One thing that I had forgotten about the pattern was that it is a rather slow pattern. So I sit and knit a few inches everyday, and I’ll keep knitting a few inches everyday until every 327 yards of the yarn is used up. I have a good feeling that I am hopefully around yardage 150.

soslowscarf

One thing that I have realized though, is I get pretty bored with knitting sometimes. If the pattern is not interesting I’ll put the project aside, and usually find a new one to start, which leads to the previous one sitting around for so long that eventually the yarn gets frogged. 

Last week I stumbled across an interesting concept developed by Lee Meredith called Game Knitting. It is a very interesting approach to knitting, especially for someone such as myself who gets a little bored with knitting (sometimes, only when I have to knit in the round for more than 2″). And for those of you who do not watch T.V. or movies when you knit, the technique could easily be adapted to things that your family does, for instance, every time your child crawls on your lap to “help” you knit. Or your oldest daughter cannot pronounce a word in a book she is reading and asks for your help. You know, the good interruptions that occur when I am knitting. So anyways, check out the concept of Game Knitting, and also check out all the fun and cool projects that Lee Meredith has created for the e-book.

While I do wish that I found this concept before I started my scarf, I did find something that would break up the “boredom” with my scarf.

As you well know, Autumn is here in Ohio and with Autumn comes those chilly mornings. I had purchased some handspun yarn from GoldenRoad’s Etsy shop and could not wait to start a project with it. The yarn is a thick and thin yarn that ranges from fingering weight to sport weight. So I figured a nice pair of fingerless mitts would be perfect for this yarn. After browsing Ravelry and marking so many fingerless mitt patterns as a favorite, I grew frustrated that I could not find exactly what I was looking for to match my yarn. So I gave up my search and just winged it. Casted on and began knitting. And soon enough, I was able to try on my little half done mitt and realize that my “pattern” was working out like a charm and my mitts were going to fit.

DSC_4764 

fm1

fm3

fm2

I threw in some Knit Picks Shine Sport (in Harbour) to make the yardage last a bit more (there is only 125 yds). They are super warm, super comfy, and are nice to wear around the house or out and about. While I cannot actually wear them while knitting, there are plenty more fall festivities that I can wear them to.

How do you get through the knitting boredom? Do you work on a few projects at the same time?

Entry filed under: knitting.

music to my ears thrifting love

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  October 8, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Love the fingerless mitts. I actually have a pair on needles right now that I need to finish up. I too get “bored” with patterns that are very repetitive. And thanks for the links!

    Reply
  • 2. Sabrina  |  October 15, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    Hi Angie! I’m blogging again and I jsut wanted to come and say Hi!!
    Love your mittens!

    Sabrina

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


