For the love of yellow

October 27, 2009 at 8:10 am 6 comments

Perhaps my love of yellow right now has something to do with Fall. Or maybe it is something else, but I am in love with the color yellow right now.

I have a few projects that I want to start for each girl (and hopefully will be able to get them done before Christmas arrives) so I figured I would squeak out a few instant gratification projects.

My new favorite winter hat! I am in love with this hat!! The color! The fact that it was worked up in less than 24 hours! The stitch pattern! And, it cost less than $5, I couldn’t even buy a hat this nice at the store for less than that. Well, I probably could, but it certainly wouldn’t be as nice and I’d probably get frost bite on my head, or the hat would fall apart 5 minutes after wearing it.

harvestmoon

harvestmoon2

harvestmoon3

So the stats. The pattern is by Brooke Harlan called the Slouchy Mama Hat (Rav link to the pattern). The yarn for the pattern called for Lion Brand Wool Ease Thick n Quick, when I purchased Louet Riverstone in Harvest Moon it was labled as a bulky yarn, so I figured a few minor re-adjustments to the pattern and I would be on my way. The yarn arrived in the mail and that was when it hit me that it is not a bulky yarn, more of a worsted or aran weight yarn. Poo! So after some major re-adjustments to the pattern (I really wanted to make this hat!) and I was finally knitting away.

Notes and Mods:
I used US size 9 needles for the ribbing and US size 10.5 for the body. My gauge on US size 10.5 needles is 4.5 sts = 1″ and 5 rows = 1″. Going based on that and that the pattern is an 8 stitch repeat, I casted on 74 sts on US size 9 needles and worked my ribbing for 8 rounds. Switched to size 10.5 and increased to 80 stitches then worked the pattern exactly how it was written. When it came time to decrease for the crown, I placed 20 stitches on 4 DPN’s and worked the decreases as written until I was down to 40 stitches K2Tog all the way around then continued on as the decreases were written in the pattern. My hat is not as slouchy as the original but I love it all the same!!!

Now I need to finish one more instant gratification project and I’ll be on my way to knitting up my projects for the girls!

Happy Knitting!

Entry filed under: knitting.

dog day afternoon Happy Halloween!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. brookiellen  |  October 27, 2009 at 8:59 am

    I LOVE this! came out great & i love the color you picked! great job:)

    Reply
  • 2. Emilee  |  October 27, 2009 at 10:25 am

    What a cute hat!

    Reply
  • 3. thepaintedman  |  November 8, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    Hey, looks great…great job, of course the awesome pattern by my awesome wife probably helped out a bit, too.

    Rock.

    Reply
  • 4. belle  |  November 9, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    I lalalalove it! your hair is sooo long looks so healthy and beautiful with that hat

    Reply
  • 5. Rebecca  |  November 9, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Oh my goodness, I love this hat and I love the colour. Thanks for the Rav link, I’m so going to make one for myself. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. geek+nerd  |  November 13, 2009 at 12:08 am

    Oooh, I’m loving the yellow too. Great hat, great color!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


