Stranded in daisies

January 3, 2010 at 9:00 pm 1 comment

After the holiday rush was over with, I went back to my knitting routine. For about a month now I have been knitting the continental way rather than throwing. Sometime in December we all came down with a 24 hour flu thing that passed one by one through our house and ending with James and I for about a week. So I got some Elizabeth Zimmermann videos from the library and came to the realization that I wanted to learn fair isle. Of coure EZ (and her daughter Meg) make it look easy peasy by simply knitting and adding color, but truth be told, it is a little more trying than that.

First came a little swatch to see if I could actually balance two needles and two strands of yarn (one in each hand).

It was so stinkin’ easy, even with purling, and my strands were doing pretty good. So I felt confident enough to go through and make an actually project in fair isle. So I browsed Ravelry for a simple but fun pattern so I can show off my newly learned technique (thanks to EZ and Meg), and came to Norwegian Star Earflap Hat (rav link) by Tiennie Knits (link to the blog where the pattern is located on the lower right hand side bar).

Pattern: Norwegian Star Earflap Hat
Source: Tiennie Knits
Started: January 2, 2010
Finished: January 3, 2010
Yarn: 0.5 skeins of Lion Brand Wool-Ease in Blush Heather
0.25 skein of Lion Brand Wool-Ease in Oxford Grey
Needles: Size 6
Mods: No earflaps since I have already made Miss K an earflap hat last year. Casted on 90 stitches and worked 1×1 ribbing for 1.5″ then on the plain knit round I increased 6 stitches evenly to bring me up to the 96 stitch count. Worked the remaining of the pattern as written.
Notes: The pattern is very (and I do mean very) well written. She put a lot of time and energy into it making sure that even the most beginner of all beginning knitters would be able to read and understand the pattern (or at least that is how I feel). Also note that some comments I had seen while browsing other people take on the pattern stated that even the child size pattern could fit an adult but I am assuming that this would be going the earflap way. But if you decide to make the pattern, take that into consideration.

So there you have it, a new skill learned and a new knitted FO for 2010. Pretty proud of myself!

Oh, and I did say daisies didn’t I!?

I finished a pair of socks last year (December 29 to be exact) and I am so glad they are complete. Every time I would open my knitting bag there they were taunting me to complete them.


Notice the difference in toe grafting? That would be a big THANK YOU! to EZ and Meg for showing the correct way to do kitchener stitch.

So there you have it, my last FO from 2009 and my first FO from 2010.

Entry filed under: knitting.

after it’s all said and done per her request

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  January 4, 2010 at 6:50 am

    OH, I love it! never thought to look for knitting videos at the library. How ingenious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


