per her request

January 9, 2010 at 12:41 am 1 comment

I have to admit that I have never really been one of “those Mom’s” to dress their daughters all matchy-matchy. Of course past evidence on this blog would beg to differ, but with a switch-a-roo of color and I figure it is not all that matchy.

So after I had completed Miss K’s fair isle hat, I had noticed that a little someone had a pouty lip.

“What’s wrong honey?” says the Mama, knowing what is wrong but giving the girl with a pouty lip a chance to plead her case.

“Lala (that is what L. calls Miss K) has a pretty hat but I don’t!” says the girl with a pouty lip.

“Sure you have pretty hats, you have ones from the thrift store and ones that Mama has already made you” says the Mama, knowing exactly where this is taking her.

“I know, but those aren’t the same! They don’t have a pretty picture on them!” says the girl in a conniving manner.

“Ok, so what if I made you a hat as well with a pretty picture on it” says the Mama thinking what has she gotten herself into.

“Ok Mama, but it has to be purple – because you know how much I looooove purple, and have braids!” as that pouty lip turns more into a smile….knowing that she has Mama wrapped around her little finger.

So, I set off and again casted on for the fair isle hat following the pattern exactly this time so little miss L could have an earflap hat (I love earflap hats on children! Keeps their ears and little cheeks so warm!).

Pattern: Norwegian Star Earflap Hat (ravelry link)
Yarn: Lion Brand Wool-Ease in Violet and White
Needles: Size 6
Mods: Nothing really other than I crocheted a white border around the hat to keep the brim and earflaps laying flat. Also added braids in both Violet and White (which I am not sure if I like the two mixed together).
Notes: So as I said with Miss K’s hat, some people on Ravelry had said that even the child’s versions of the pattern could fit an adult. Now I did use a smaller needle size which gave me a smaller gauge (notes are somewhere) so either that worked, or my babe has a big head. Now Miss L does have a bit of room with the hat meaning that it is not tight but does not fall off her noggin. But as my Grandmother would say “Just wear it! You’ll grow into it one day!”

One final thought:


it makes for a great snow angel hat, or so the girl with the big smile in the photo above would say.

Entry filed under: knitting.

Stranded in daisies out of necessity

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  January 9, 2010 at 1:47 am

    It’s perfect! and she looks so happy and joyful 🙂 You’re a good mama!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


