For the love of it

February 13, 2010 at 1:47 am 1 comment

Oh Valentine’s Day! What a special and great day it is. To celebrate love with the ones you truly love. My man and my kids. James and I have not done the Valentine’s Day thing since we started dating, with your usual chocolates, jewelry, and flowers thrown in. This year has been a hard year on us (I have been going through some things that I just can’t seem to manage on my own). So James took the liberty of taking the kids one day this past week and getting me a Valentine’s Day gift.

While I won’t bore you with the boring necklace bracelet earring set him and the girls got me (actually, its beautiful! I just don’t have any pictures of it). I will share a second Valentine’s Day gift that James got me (even though I picked it out myself. It still counts if you use your man’s credit card to pay for it right!?)

Now mind you that being a single income family, I like to be mindful of where exactly our money is going and eliminate those things that I do not think will “benefit” us in one way or another. Also keep in mind that after a bit, nobody really likes being your “yarn swift” no matter how much chocolate you bribe them with.

So as a special little Valentine’s Day treat to myself, I purchased a yarn swift and Royal ball winder and I have to say that I have honestly been missing out. I got bored of hand winding all my yarn into balls that could only be taken from one end of the yarn, not both.

And to show just how easy this thing is to use, even a child can use it!


Miss L. “helping” me wind up some yarn

Do you know how good it feels to have a 210 yard hank wound up in a matter of minutes? Compared to 20-30 minutes!

So there you have it, 1,661 yards of yarn all waiting and ready to be placed on the needles and made into projects for my family.

By the way, the yarn swift I got is from Paradise Fibers. While I do not have any experience with yarn swifts to compare one another, I absolutely love this one!!! (Seriously, if you have time, watch the video of how this thing works. The video is what sold me on it because once you stop winding, the swift stops. Of course in the video they do not tell you that there is a little disk that you can adjust for speed. If you put the disk in the center of the swift it will keep spinning and make your yarn all crazy.)

Entry filed under: knitting.

digging our way out making stuff to carry stuff

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. belle  |  February 14, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    wow that is awesome!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


