making stuff to carry stuff

February 17, 2010 at 6:00 pm 2 comments

It has been ages since I last busted out the sewing machine. It sits there…patiently…while my knitting needles hog all of my spare time.

So after seeing, since forever, all these cutesy things floating around Etsy, Flickr, blogs, yadda yadda yadda of crafters using vintage doilies to add a bit of whimsy to a project, I couldn’t take it anymore and had to make something of my own.

This bag is now my new favorite bag (I say that with every new bag I make) and is made out of 100% recycled materials (minus the thread). The outer is a pair of jeans that James no longer wanted and the inner and the handle are from a pair of khaki pants my Dad no longer wanted. Total cost for bag – FREE!

Since the application of a doily onto fabric seems to be a heavily guarded secret, I tried hand stitching it on at first and, well, that was a pain in my tooshie. So I machine stitched it on with white thread and love that you have to get right on top of my bag to see the stitching. Started from the inside working my way out in a spiral formation, adjusting and shifting as I went along.

Oh I love this bag! And am now searching for inspiration to make myself a new knitting bag.

Anyone willing to trade a handknit item(s) for a knitting box style bag? I suck at zippers! but am in desperate need for a new knitting bag that I can take on the go with 1 sweater project or a pair of socks and hat. If interested, email me at multicrafty(at) gmail(dot)com 😉   Offer taken, thanks Sandy!!

Entry filed under: recycled crafting, sewing.

For the love of it reason #259 of why I wish I was a kid

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sandy  |  February 18, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    Ohhhhh, how I wish I could crack out a bag quick enough to swap with you. I love, love, love making bags…I say the same thing every time I make one! I could send you one, though…I don’t put zippers in them, but line them with mouth-watering fabric, inner pocket and snap closure. They are big enough for a good-size project. I don’t have any picks on my ravelry. I could send you pics, however. Your bag is beeeeeautiful!!
    Sandy (mbsandybee on ravelry)

    Reply
  • 2. belle  |  February 26, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    I love this bag too! I def need to make a bag and a wallet …I am talking high need here

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


