purple haze

March 15, 2010 at 7:19 pm Leave a comment

This weather has been funky! Last week beautiful, Spring-y, warm, and bike riding. This week, rained all weekend long and is a high of 40 and hazey, very hazey. But it is the perfect weather for a handknit cardigan made especially for my purple loving little babe.


(she just can’t resist her funny faces)

Pattern: Seamless Raglan Sweater by Elizabeth Zimmermann
Source: Knitting Workshop (along with the video that was really helpful considering it has been a while since my last bottom’s up sweater – really need to rent the DVD from the library again, I love the way she carries herself and speaks about knitting)
Yarn: The beautiful and softest wool that also goes by Malabrigo Worsted in Holly Hock
Skeins: 2 full skeins for the body and sleeves, part of skein #3 for the remaining of the yoke and button band
Started: February 14, 2010 (when we had 3 feet of snow on the ground)
Finished: March 13, 2010 (no snow, but a lot of mud and rain)
Mods: Not a sweater, obviously. No steeking as I am not ready for that. So I worked back and forth knitting and purling and got this cardigan done in just under a month.
Notes: Loooooove this sweater. Buttons are from my Grandma that she sent my way after cleaning out her sewing room. And the upside, I purchased 5 skeins of Malabrigo not knowing exactly how much yarn I was going to use for the sweater, so I have plenty left for a few more EZ patterns……woohoo! Also, my first time working with Malabrigo and I now know why the group is called Malabrigo Junkies. This stuff is freakin’ awesome with a cherry on top! Blocks beautifully and smells wonderful when washed in Eucalan Lavender.

And the hat……that was “made” by Miss L. herself. A while ago I had given her this drawstring bag (which now that I read that post, I see that I should have stuck with making it a hat). Well, she came out of her room one day and asked if I wanted to see what she made. “Of course” I said. And she whips out this little thing. She took out the drawstring out, placed it on her head, and calls it a hat. It does actually fit her and gets more use as a hat than a drawstring bag. Good work Spiderman! Good work!


(she calls this one her “Spiderman” pose)

 

Entry filed under: crochet, grandma's stash, knitting.

patience is a virtue i love other crafters!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


