for the birthday girl!

April 1, 2010 at 4:00 pm 3 comments

Cannot believe it is that time of year again. The time when I get all misty eyed because my biggest babe is turning another year older. But this year is especially special because she will be 10 years old. DOUBLE DIGITS!!!! “Six more years and I’ll be driving” as she tells me with confidence in her voice.

And she is at that age where she don’t actually play with toys. Card games, board games, bike riding, walks, nature picking, and reading (lots of reading) is my girl.

A few years ago I had made Miss K. a little book bag but that was for Babysitter Club, Nancy Drew, and Junie B. Jones size books. Now my 4th grader reads Harry Potter books, bird books, and some of the Lemony Snicket books.

So for a 10 year old girl that reads a lot of books, I figured a bigger bag was the perfect gift for her.

It is now the perfect size bag to haul around all of those books. No pattern at all! Just cut some fabric measuring 14″x15″ from both the outer and lining, cut out some of the flowers from the lining and appliqued them to the front of the bag as well as using the lining fabric to make the handle. The outer fabric came from a bunch of sewing stuff my Grandmother had just recently given me (more on that later) and the lining I purchased in an Ebay lot sometime last year and have been holding on to it for the perfect project since there wasn’t really much there.

And some how she managed to twist my arm into giving her birthday present early. Her birthday isn’t until next week but why wait!? She absolutely loves it and has been using it straight for the past two days now. This thing has not left her side at all! And I have just enough of the floral fabric left that I am thinking of making a pouch of some sort for her to carry pens and pencils in. Not sure though since I suck at zippers.

So for the next few days I still get to enjoy the fact that my oldest babe is still in single digits. Oy! Where has the time gone?

Entry filed under: sewing.

i love other crafters! the big 1-0!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. belle  |  April 2, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    lovelovelove it!! I am so into these colors what lucky girl!

    Reply
  • 2. Sandy  |  April 3, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Oh my good heaven’s this is a gorgeous bag!!! The material, the size, the applique’s…the whole thing!! Did you put the flowers on with your machine? Is it a special setting? You are so talented! Happy Birthday to the big girl 😉

    Reply
    • 3. multicrafty  |  April 5, 2010 at 9:22 am

      Thank you so much Sandy!!!

      It is just basic applique that I did. You add fusible interfacing to the back of your fabirc, cut out your design, fuse it to where you want it, then zig zag stitch around the thing. I use a stitch length of 2 and a stitch width of 2.5. Then I go around the thing a few times. Super easy to do.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


