a fishy story

May 19, 2010 at 1:05 pm Leave a comment

We took the girls up to a friend of ours place which was set deep back in the woods. Perfect for camping, fishing, paddle boating, and a nice bonfire.

Miss L. caught her very first fish this past weekend!!! She was patient (as much as a 5 year old could be) and watched the bobber like a hawk till the right moment came when she screamed “Daddy!!!!! Where did my bobber go?” She didn’t want to reel in her big catch, so she threw her fishing pole to James and he stood there, on a dock, with a pink fishing pole in his hand, reeling in a blue gill. The photo above is your cliche photo you must take with your first fish, but it took Daddy actually holding the line to get Miss L. to hold it.

Then we told her to touch the fish and the fish stayed there, clinging to life on the end of a pink fishing pole, embarrassed in front of all his other fishy friends lurking in the waters; till Miss L. went to touch the fish and that damn fish flapped up its tail and she screamed again, this time backing away swiftly and Mama had to catch her or else she would’ve landed off the dock and into the water. I do think the lurking fishy friends got a good laugh, but Miss L. was not happy – until I told her I’d take her and Miss K. out in the paddle boat.

Miss K. though held her own by hooking her own worm. She didn’t catch anything but said that if she did she could un-hook the fish herself. Which worked for me because I don’t touch fish until they have been beer battered and deep fried.

And Miss K. and a friend of hers got to take the row boat out all by themselves. My 10 year old always looks so big to me, then I realize she is just a little fish in a big pond. Her friend and her looked adorable, each with their own pole hanging out from the bow and stern of the boat.

It was a beautiful weekend!

Entry filed under: family life.

another starting of the season because you will freeze if I do not

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


