Fade into you

August 28, 2010 at 8:41 pm 1 comment

A few weeks ago James surprised me with an unexpected trip to My Sister’s Yarn Shop. (Such a great yarn shop, very organized, and very helpful!)

We were suppose to be on our way to Akron but he googled behind my back for local yarn shops. Took the kids next store to a candy shop and told me to spend as much time as I wanted……..he’s up to something 😉 But I am not one to complain to be left alone in a yarn shop with endless possibilities.

So I browsed, drooled, manhandled, and even offered to apply for the position as professional yarn smeller/squeezer. The shop owner was so super nice, let me browse and manhandle all the yarn I choose, and offered assistance when I needed.

So I made the decision that I would purchase enough yarn for me (because I was feeling rather selfish that particular day…..not to mention that I have enough yarn in my stash to keep 2 girls warm and cozy all winter long from head to toe) and I would make myself a warm cardigan before Fall and Winter hit here in Ohio. Which, judging by this past week, I better hurry up and bind off soon.

I am currently making James a sweater out of Cascade Yarns Eco+ (in gray……a plain gray sweater……and he wonders why it is not done yet) and I love working with the stuff. The yardage is awesome and for $30.00 I can make myself a beautiful handknit cardigan. So I came home with my happy little package and immediately quequed this project here (Ravelry link). Shuffled the skeins around a bit in my stash before I finally decided I would put all other projects aside (for just a smidge) and CO for my cardigan.

It is knitting up rather quickly…….half of one sleeve to go, another sleeve, work button band and collar then finito! So super cozy and many mods that I will add once it is all complete. The name of my cardigan is Fade Into You named after my favorite Mazzy Star song.

While we were out school shopping for the girls, I giggled when I seen this on display at Old Navy. Take away the belt and add buttons and it is pretty darn close to the original pattern. hhmmmm…..$49.50 for a store bought, look like everyone else cardigan or $30.00 for a handknit, stitched with love cardigan…..you be the judge!

Entry filed under: knitting.

just be almost ready….

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. mbsandybee  |  August 29, 2010 at 11:06 am

    Wow! You lucky girl! The cardigan is looking great! Can’t wait to see final pics 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


