keep knitting

November 1, 2010 at 3:32 pm Leave a comment

Another knitting post….seems like a lot of those are going to be happening.

I cannot put down my needles though.

I realized that being “multicrafty” is a little exhausting and so I spent some time last year realizing which craft or fiber art, as it be, that I really love….that I cannot live without….that I plan and literally dream about.

Knitting was the one that made the cut. 

So with that I cranked out two more knitting projects into the FO pile.

A hat for Miss K…..

My girls have become huge Harry Potter fans within the past year (Prisoner of Azkaban is my fave) so when I found the cable eyelet hat pattern that Hermione was wearing in Half Blood Prince I knew one of my girlies would love a hat made for her. Thing 1 was the one that took up the offer and using Malabrigo Worsted I knew that this hat would be one of her faves.


(completely staged photo but I love it!)

Pattern: Hermione’s Cable & Eyelet Hat by JL Yarnworks
Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted in Lettuce (do not know how much yardage but I have a nice chunk left over)
Needles: Size 5 (really wish I would have used a smaller size needle or casted on fewer stitches for ribbing as the cabling seems to make the 2×2 ribbing bow out – lesson learned)
Mods: Used long tail cast on and 2×2 ribbing
Notes: This hat is beautiful!!! Miss K absolutely loves it and wears it everyday. Her friends at school were jealous that her Mom can knit and make “Harry Potter stuff”. Totally worth it to make this pattern! This is by far the most favorite thing I have ever made for her….or so I’ve been told.

The other project is a cardigan for my brother’s baby that is soon to be born.

My brother is a huge Ohio State Buckeyes fan (I’m noticing a pattern with these two projects) and as soon as he told me that him and my sister in law were pregnant the next words out of his mouth were

(and I quote) “So, you think you can knit up my baby some Ohio State stuff?”

Would absolutely love to my dear brother.

It is so wee little, took no time at all, and only used roughly a half a skein of each color to knit up. The buttons are sewed on really (really) good and I cannot wait to place this on my baby nephew.


Found the cutest little football buttons at JoAnns.

The cardigan is so wee little….I do not remember babes being that little. And yet I know it will still be a bit too big for my little nephew when he is born.

Pattern: Baby Sweater on Two Needles by Elizabeth Zimmermannn (omitting the lace pattern obviously)
Source: Knitter’s Almanac
Yarn: Lion Brand Wool Ease in Grey Heather and Ranch Red
Needles: Size 5
Mods: None.
Notes: Now my brother wants me to make a Jim Tressel Sweater Vest

Entry filed under: knitting.

i feel pretty shameless self promotion

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


