FO’s in time for the holidays

December 19, 2010 at 12:00 pm Leave a comment

As my crazy hat making endeavor is still progressing, a friend of mine approached me about making him a Santa hat. I got really excited as I have never 1) made that style of hat, and 2) never made a Santa hat….so I thought it would be fun to make a Santa hat.

After browsing for just the right pattern (that did not require the use of that fur yarn that is suppose to be fun) I discovered Knit Santa Hat by Edie Eckman via Coats & Clark website. It was just what I was looking for as well as the pom-pom coming down to the right length as my friend requested.

 
(very proudly modeled by Thing 1 and Thing 2)

Pattern: Knit Santa Hat by Edie Eckman
Yarn: Lion Brand Wool-Ease in Cranberry and Patons Divine in White
Needles: Size 8 for the body and Size 7 for the white brim
Mods: The Patons  Divine is a nice soft yarn that produced the fuzziness I was looking for but a nuisance to knit with. Not to mention that originally I worked 2×2 ribbing and it made the hat come out huuuuuuge! The Patons Divine DOES NOT! frog very well (unless you have a glass of wine and scissors) so I ended up having to cut it out. I re-picked up the Cranberry stitches and (with the Divine yarn) began working decreases going from 92 sts down to 72 sts. Continued knitting (as that seems to be what was working for this mischievious yarn) for 6″ then BO on size 8 needles. So all in all, with the pom-pom, my first attempt at the fuzzy white brim, and second attempt at the fuzzy white brim I used 1 full skein of the Patons Divine.


(my poor first attempt WIP photo)

In the end, the Santa hat came out fantabulous and he absolutely looooves it!!  Now both of the girlies are requesting Santa hats be made for them.

In other FO news!!!! The most exciting news of all!!!!! More important that anything I have knitted, stitched, dyed, felted, glued, and glittered!!!! I am officially an Aunt!

My handsome little nephew arrived very safely into this world and straight into the loving arms of so many family and friends that will love him and spoil him to pieces. The girls are absolutely swooning over their little cousin and I am happy to sit back and watch my baby brother take on Fatherhood (so far he has been in for an interesting ride that included a change in diapering).

Two very good FO’s (though the nephew one by far out weighs the Santa hat).

Entry filed under: knitting.

merry making Knockin’ Me Sideways ~Free Pattern~

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2010
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives


