Fresh-Picked Bolero

August 5, 2008 at 4:56 pm 2 comments

Ok, now I’m officially done with it.  I’ve never done seaming before on knitted items and that is why this project has sat in my knitting bag for 2 days.  Knitting was completed on Saturday but it has just sat there.  By the way, I hate seaming on knitted items.  Flipping back and forth between right side and wrong side making sure that it not only looks nice from the inside, but I’m not getting this weird strand of yarn going through on the right side.

K. is happy with it and I kinda wish I went with my gut instincts and made the mods I was going to make.  Longer body, and a bit longer sleeves.  Oh, and no, this isn’t that cardigan I was originally going to make her, after looking over that pattern again (and again, and again) it just didn’t look like my K. that I knew.  Very cute pattern and will probably make it sometime in the future for her and probably make it in a array of different colors, but I wanted something fun, cute, and what looked like it was literally made for her.

While I am happy with it, I’m thinking of either ripping out the cast on edge, picking up stitches, and then knitting it to the length that I want it to be or just leaving the seed stitch edging and picking up stitches, knitting it to the length and then adding another seed stitch border.  Right now, when I look at it, it looks like I don’t know a thing about sizing and would probably look “well-fitted” on L.  *note to self, always go with gut instinct, ALWAYS!*.  I do really love it though, and it really does look like something that K. would wear.

Other than that, it was a really nice and easy knit for me (just a slow knitter).

Details:
Pattern:  Fresh-Picked 3/4 sleeve cardiganfrom LionBrand.com
Yarn:  4 skeins of Knit Picks Comfy in Flamingo (love this yarn, so soft and squishy!)
Needles:  Size 8 Knit Picks Options Interchangeable

 


Entry filed under: knitting.

:: almost there :: A little late night reading

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tara  |  August 5, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    It’s really pretty and your little girl looks thrilled with it. All she has to do is push the sleeves up a little and no one will know they’re on the short side. Nice work, as usual!

    Reply
  • 2. multicrafty  |  August 6, 2008 at 10:18 am

    Thanks Tara! We tried that, she don’t like it pushed up. Plus, it’s also the body of the cardigan that I’m not happy with. I’ll fix it though.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives