Archive for October 30, 2008

thrifting thursday

Now that life is getting back to (what we know as) normal, I thought I would treat myself to a little thrift shopping.  Something about finding old things for cheap really cheers up my spirits.

There’s one thing I’ve always wanted and that’s a beautiful old table cloth without paying too much for it.  I’ve browsed around on Ebay and almost even gave into a few over there.  But I couldn’t justify paying $50+ dollars for something that I wouldn’t let anyone eat off of.  It would probably spend more time in the linen closet than actually on my table. So when I came across this beautiful Christmas one (for just a few bucks), I was thrilled.  While it won’t actually fit my table, I thought it would be nice to place a proper fitting red one underneath, then arrange this one beautifully on top of it.  There is one small little stain on it, but nothing really noticeable.  Plus, with 2 girls eating at the table, it’s bound to get a few more stains on it.

Another thing I’ve been keeping my eye one is a small, unbreakable, pitcher for L.  She’s really been into wanting to pour her own drinks, milk for cereal, juice and I just couldn’t bring myself up to let her do it (unless it was water, ooo, what fun).  I found the cutest pewter pitcher that is just the perfect size for L.  Also a matching little dish to go along with it.  2 stainless steel mugs for each girl (they’re getting out of that plastic stage and aren’t quite ready for the glasses we drink out of), 4 kitchen/food themed coasters, and the littlest gingerbread cookie cutter perfect for this holiday and all the cookies we’ll be making.

And of course, it wouldn’t be a thrifting post without the usual fabric photos.  I love the fabrics I always manage to find at thrift stores.

2 pillowcases (far left and far right), awesome vintage polyester fabric (love it!) and some shirting fabric.  The pillowcases will go for that quilt I keep dreaming about making, the polyester I’m thinking of making L. a jumper out of it (there’s just a yard ), and no clue about the shirting fabric.

October 30, 2008 at 9:33 am 2 comments


October 2008
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives