Archive for October 27, 2008

Weekend Progress

What happens when you have a sick kid at home?  You close yourself off from the rest of the world, take care of her, and get a lot of projects done.  While I don’t like my kids being sick (believe me I don’t), it seems that that is when I actually make any sort of progress on my crafting.

I’ve had so many things on my “to-do” list just waiting, and now I’m crossing them off.  Life has been crazy hectic around here and things are finally starting to simmer down. 

  

I finally got around to drafting out a pattern to make the girls headbands.  (Much needed I might add) And am so close to making adult size headbands.  L.’s is reversible with toile for added pizzazz, and K.’s I added ric rac that my Grandmother had given me.  Both fit perfectly, and I ended up making them about 5 more (not pictured).

While at my sewing machine, I made L. a new top.  The gauchos I actually made back in the summertime, just never blogged about them (told you I am running waaaay behind schedule).  Both were made out of this awesome knit fabric I picked up at a thrift store.  The top is my all time favorite pattern for a little girl, Butterick 4910 (which I have made before both here and here) and the gauchos are from McCall’s 5455.  Together, yes, the look like pj’s, but separately, they are just a peasant top and gauchos.  So cute and looks so adorable on L.  She wore them all day long that day.

 

 

 

 

Most importantly though, I finally finished my button-tab hat!  I used yarn that my Grandmother had given me and a vintage button I picked up at a flea market a while ago.  Just in time I might add, it snowed today, nothing much to stick, just some flurries.

I did garter stitch for the band and seed stitch for the remaining.  I tried 3 times figuring out how the hell to do decreasing while still sticking to seed stitch, finally I just decided to do regular stockinette stitch for the decreasing.

Last and not least is a little (secret) project I’m working on for the girls.  I started on L.’s, need to finish up K.’s tonight, then wait for my fabric order to come.  I’ve been wanting to do this for them since I made my last one and am finally going through with it (just waiting for that perfect fabric to come along).

I’m really happy with how it came out (even though James said it looked like a J).  Now I’m just sitting here waiting on my fabric order then all will be go.

So, how much progress did you make this past weekend?

October 27, 2008 at 3:32 pm 2 comments


October 2008
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives