2 new bags

October 23, 2008 at 9:11 am 5 comments

I’ve been wanting a new Fall bag for quite sometime.  Planning, deciding, and mostly of all, going with things I’ve already had on hand.  Or lack of I should say. There are 2 bags that I carry, one being L.’s bag, filled with an extra outfit, books, crayons, snack, and juice.  Then there’s my bag, which, well, everyone knows a woman carries around to much.

The bag above is L.’s bag.  “Well, if it’s your daughter’s bag, why isn’t it more kid friendly?”  Because I carry it, and I really don’t want to be a grown woman carrying a bag with some cartoon character on it.  Just a simple rectangle cut on the fold, added interfacing, lined the inside (with some dark blue fabric, featuring a red pocket on the inside) and then added one handle.

Then theres my bag.  I’ve had these jeans that I worn before L. came along and left the beautiful 15 lbs. (ahem, 20 lbs.) on me.  They were great jeans with a little stretch, and always made my bum look good.  Well, we have a better chance of hell freezing over before I’ll ever get back into these jeans, and now their really not my style but I’m still in love with the flocked butterflies on them.  I had used the last of my interfacing for the previous bag so I knew my outer had to be good, strong, and durable.  Using the pant legs as the bag of the purse, opened them up and freehanded a pattern onto it as to not cut straight across a butterfly.

 

 

 

   

The lining was some cotton I had on hand.  But my most favorite part was that I cut off the pockets from the back of the jeans and re-used them.  One for the pocket on the front of the bag, and one for the flap.

As far as the handle, I used the waist band from the jean.  Carefully cutting it off, removing the belt loops, and re-attaching it onto the purse.

It’s a pretty good size bag and I’m in complete love with it.

Entry filed under: recycled crafting, sewing.

Thrifted shoes Weekend Progress

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Wanett  |  October 23, 2008 at 9:30 am

    Cute!
    I too have a ton of jeans that don’t fit post children
    I could make a fleet of bags. 😀

    Reply
  • 2. lisaannette  |  October 23, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    and in love you should be, it is completely adorable. I must say that is the best looking re-purposed jeans tote I’ve seen in a while. I’m not all that fond of them, but yours is perfect. I have a few bags that I want to make, that is when I can make myself do it! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. multicrafty  |  October 23, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    Thank you both! I know exactly what your saying Lisa, I’m not to fond of the ones that “look” like they were made out of jean pants. This one though is great, took it out yesterday for a day on the town and it was perfect.

    Reply
  • 4. Renna  |  October 24, 2008 at 2:27 am

    It’s darling!!! What a creative way to repurpose a garment and get a great looking bag. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. multicrafty  |  October 24, 2008 at 8:52 am

    Thanks Renna! I have to say that now I’ve made this one, I’m a little addicted and want to see what else I can come up with using jeans.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2008
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives