Thrifted shoes

October 22, 2008 at 9:22 am 6 comments

Shoes are probably my number one obsession.  They have to be cute, allow me to walk through a parking lot while toting 2 kids, and pretty much go with any outfit I choose.

Thrifted shoes are even better!  I’ve found some really awesome ones for really low money.  The problem though is that sometimes you have to deal with the reason why people had donated their shoes.  For instance, some shoes have the insole damaged.

These shoes here had the insole come loose.  After wearing them and getting frustrated with it, I ripped it out and then had to deal with my socks sticking to it.  Eh!  So I fixed the problem and now my shoes are not only cute, but the inside is pretty to look at as well.

I ripped out both of the original insoles (actually, one insole was sitting on the dresser), traced around them, stitched on my tracing lines (that way I was sure they’d fit back into my shoes), cut them out with pinking shears, clipped the curver edges, turned right side out, ironed, and topstitched around.

While I haven’t worn these shoes since I made these to see if they would actually work (without causing me the problem I had before) they are pretty, and their washable too.  If your like me and don’t like to wear socks all the time.

Entry filed under: sewing, thrift finds.

insert some sort of title here 2 new bags

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lera  |  October 22, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Good idea. And very pretty.

    Reply
  • 2. lisaannette  |  October 22, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Brilliantly Fantastic! I’ve never thought of that. How clever you are! Sometimes wish I were a thrifting genius. At the rate I’m shrinking, I just may have to. We don’t have many good stores around here though, so it would be a huge challenge.

    Reply
  • 3. Renna  |  October 22, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    What a GREAT idea!

    Reply
  • 4. belle  |  October 24, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    lalalove them esp after looking at the shoes your were drooling over the other week ..you are smart as a whip girl! the new bags are super fabu as well

    Reply
  • 5. Great used shoe idea « Elizabethian Tea  |  October 26, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    […] used shoe idea https://multicrafty.wordpress.com/2008/10/22/thrifted-shoes/ This smart lady made new insoles for her thrift store shoes.   What a great idea. A few […]

    Reply
  • 6. zakka life  |  November 15, 2008 at 12:30 am

    very clever, I like the idea of adding a fun fabric in the inside along with it serving a purpose

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2008
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives