insert some sort of title here

October 20, 2008 at 8:54 am 2 comments

This past weekend was one of those that none of us wanted to end.  To start with, I got some awesome news Friday evening.  My Grandmother had been going through some things lately.  She thought she had breast cancer and has had to have so much blood work and MRI’s done that I felt terrible for her.  Turns out that they did a biopsy (not the needle biopsy thank goodness) and it came back benign (sp?).  WOOHOO!!!!

So I spent the weekend playing with my girls and watching them grow into these beautiful, carefree, little woman (all the while hoping that they won’t ever have to go through what my Grandmother went through).


(All those leaves around and she managed to find a baby one.  Oh, and the stains, that would be food coloring. *See paragraph below*)

On Saturday, I found this recipe for magic clay using cornstarch, baking soda, and water.  It was a lot of messy fun.  The book I found the recipe in used it to make beads.  Allowing 6 hours – overnight to dry.  Great! The girls and I can make necklaces tomorrow.  Wrong!  Here it is Monday morning and those things are still not dry, and we lost 3 checking to see if they were dry.  We used food coloring and toothpicks to paint them with, as well as mixing the food coloring all through it.  Not a bad project, just a very (very) messy project.

 

And Sunday, well, even God rested on that day.  It was a very lazy (ahem, stay in pj’s all day) type of day.  Watched Night at the Museum for the umpteenth time (it’s L.’s favorite movie), played games, and relaxed.

Entry filed under: family life, kid craft.

flashback Thrifted shoes

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Renna  |  October 21, 2008 at 2:34 am

    I’m so happy for your grandmother (and you all) that her report was benign, praise God!

    What a sweet way to spend a weekend with pretty little girls, full of energy and creativity. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. lisaannette  |  October 21, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Night at the Museum is such a cute movie. I can understand why she’d love it! The beads are a great idea! Have you ever made homemade Christmas ornaments with dough and you bake them in the oven? We did those as kids… Loved it!
    I like the pictures you took of the girls. It looks like you had a wonderful weekend and to top it off the good news about your Grandma… that’s so good. Getting test done all the time is not fun. I’m glad she’s ok 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2008
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
I am flattered that you would like to share something I made on your site. Please feel free to link to my site or a certain post. However, I would be grateful if you could please ask for my permission before using and/or posting any of my photos anywhere. If you have any questions, please contact me via email at multicrafty (at) gmail (dot) com. I thank you in advance for your understanding!

Free Patterns

Click the photo for project instructions!

Knockin' Me Sideways

Weekend Head Warmer



Serendipity



Knitting Needle Case


Simple Crochet Flower

Places of Interest

Archives